Summer!

Blame it on the fun!

I wasn’t really able to take photos when my friends and I went to the beach. Or, maybe I was but they’re in my camera and not my phone and I’m too lazy to transfer and edit and blah blah blah. Maybe I will later on when I find lots of free time, oh wait, I’m sorry, I mean, when I make lots of free time πŸ˜‰ . But for now, this collage (and the story) will have to do:

alabatcollage

My friends and I went to Alabat, Quezon on account of that’s where my friend’s Aunt A is from. And so, even though it was sooo difficult to get to, it cost us way way lesser than if we’d gone anywhere else. I.e. It cost us less than P1800 each—that’s for food, transpo and accommodations, for three days and two nights! Of course, they weren’t fancy accommodations, but the air conditioner worked and there was running water, which makes it all OK by me! πŸ˜€

Our travel time was 6 hours from Alabang. We took a bus to Lucena, another bus to Atimonan and the boat ride from Atimonan to Alabat island was for around 45 minutes. From the port of Alabat, we took a tricycle and it was another 45 minutes to Essay Resort. As I said, it’s not the most convenient of places to go to, but I think it was worth it.

I liked the place because it was clean and quiet. Considering it was the holy weekend, beaches should’ve been crawling with vacationists, right? But I guess this is too out of the way of the normal local tourist circuit. So, it was very relaxing and we stayed there the whole time. We didn’t hassle ourselves with touring the island or going wherever else because we were on vacation! And I really should stop confusing “vacation” with “exhausting trip”.

I guess we saved some money because my friend B, cooked all our food. πŸ˜€ Note: Buy everything you need once you get to the port. There aren’t really stores around the resort where you can buy cooking oil and rice and bottled water and whatever else you’ll probably need.

We really had lots of fun. Just hanging out at the beach or in the air conditioned room, listening to music (thanks to K for bringing her awesome speakers), drinking, answering trivia questions, telling stories, sharing feelings and embarrassing ourselves.

I do love summer, not just because it’s the best time to go to the beach but because it all gives us a reason to go bonding with our friends at the beach! Imagine asking people you want to bond with (I’m not calling them your friends yet because you’re still not that close) to go to the beach with you sometime in July or August. They’d think you were crazy and they’d ask why. And if it’s not your birthday or you’re not sick with cancer, what good reason can you give? But if it’s March or April or May and they ask why you want to go to the beach with them, you can actually say, “Because it’s summer! What’s wrong with you?” 😎 πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment