My Niece’s Wedding

Surely, this is the mark of a true old maid: when you attend your niece’s wedding as a bridesmaid. And yes, I know, the fact of the matter is, we’re an unconventional aunt&niece pair as she is only five years younger than I, but still, she is my cousin’s daughter, and she does call me “Tita.” And though I expected it, I still found it kind of funny that all my aunts asked me, “Ikaw? Kelan ka?” One aunt even said, after she found out what my job is, “‘Wag ka nang mag-homebased na trabaho! Paano ka makakahanap [ng asawa] niyan kung nakatago ka lang sa bahay?” to which, by the way, my own mother replied, “‘Eh ‘di online!”

Since I know better than to take those things seriously and didn’t feel like going into the intricacies of my long-distance relationship with R, I just faked a laugh and continued eating my chocolate-covered marshmallow from the dessert bar.

Sincerely, I am very happy for my niece and her husband and am quite flattered she still asked me to be her bridesmaid even though we’re not as close as we used to be. Perhaps she enjoyed that time when she was 7 and my sister and I brought her to SM Storyland and did all the rides with her and bought her some stationery from the bookstore afterwards more than I thought. Or maybe I’m the one who enjoyed it more as that is still my most distinct memory of her, even though that was literally 20 years ago, SM Storyland doesn’t even exist anymore and if it did, we wouldn’t be allowed on the rides anymore we’ve grown too big.

Anyway, one more story about the wedding:

I was seated next to another one of the bridesmaids and she asked me: Cousin mo si Pau?
I answered: Pamangkin ko siya.
She said: Ah… Talaga po?

And then she and the rest of the bridesmaids proceeded to call me “Ate” for the rest of the night. I guess, that’s a little better than “Tita” from people whom I know are only five years younger than me. And at least nobody actually called me an old maid. At least not to my face. Except my brother. But he’s a jerk so it doesn’t count. Right?

20170323_172253

Best wishes to my beautiful, beautiful niece! #IkzAndPau4Ever!!!

Leave a Reply

