Year Summary in Music

Some people would argue that your Spotify playlist can reveal more about your personality and experiences than Facebook can since in the latter, everything you post is mostly edited. But just like numbers, music preferences don’t lie, and so it could be in Spotify where you can truly get to know someone. I can’t imagine anyone, even the biggest of posers, listening to music they don’t like just to keep a facade. I mean, sure, you may listen to a new artist every now and then to see if you like them or not, but surely not enough times for their songs to make it to your top 100. Or at least, not your top 10.

So here are my Top 2016 Songs according to Spotify. Or, in other words, here’s what happened to me this year:

The first three songs, You, Everything, Diaries from Tomorrow, and A Step to Oblivion are all by sleepersecond, a musician I met in late January. I turned up to a friend’s gig, at which he (and many others) also happened to be. I liked most of the music I heard that night, though I have to say that as soon as sleepersecond started his set by playing the intro to You, Everything, the atmosphere began to change. Everyone got quiet, started to pay more attention to the music, and then consequently, their feelings. I suppose any kind of music can do this to people, but there is something about sleepersecond’s compositions that reaches into your guts. “It demands to be heard,” my friend M described. And upon hearing it, the feelings you thought you’d buried deep would surface and demand to be felt. sleepersecond’s music, and You, Everything in particular, made an extraordinary impact to me, and since I found out about it in the beginning of the year, it’s no surprise that it got the top spot (actually the top 3!) in my 2016 playlist.

#4 is Lose It by Oh Wonder, which I consider to be my favorite discovery of 2016. I listened to a lot of new artists this year, and Oh Wonder quickly became my favorite once I heard this song. There’s no particular reason, although when I asked my friend to listen to it, she said, “It sounds so you.”

The next songs, Reflections by Misterwives, Roses by The Chainsmokers, Celeste by Ezra Vine and Drive, also by Oh Wonder are the songs I like to listen to when I’m commuting to and from work. And since I did this literally every weekday for the first six months of the year, it’s also no wonder that they placed #5 to #8.

#9 is Tala, which I have no doubt placed so high in this playlist because when I found out that it was Sarah Geronimo’s song, I was so happy about her evolution I listened to this on repeat for at least two consecutive weeks. In those two weeks, I also deluded myself into thinking I could sing like her and so tried to memorize its words so that the next time I went to karaoke with my friends, I would blow them away. No such event ever happened, but I did learn to appreciate how realistic the lyrics of this song is.

(One more detail about Tala–As you can imagine, I’m not in the habit of looking up the producers of songs, so when I first heard the music of Alisson Shore by the magic of SoundCloud suggestion, though I thought it sounded familiar, I didn’t think anything of it. And then I met him at a gig and found out he was actually one of this song’s producers! Suddenly, it all made sense. It’s really interesting how things like these can happen, isn’t it?)

Speaking of realistic lyrics, the last song on my top 10 is Song About a Song by Alana Henderson, which I believe, has the most accurate and easiest to understand description of how one feels after a heart-wrenching break-up. I actually have a lot of difficulty understanding poetry (and therefore, also poetic song lyrics) so I’m really happy when songwriters are able to convey their messages directly, and without having to sacrifice the artistry of words.

If you don’t know the song and would like to find out what I mean, just check out the lyrics here. I was thinking of quoting an excerpt from its lyrics, but I couldn’t choose which excerpt to take, all the lines in the song are way more meaningful when you see them all together, or in fact, when you hear them sung in the context of the song, so just listen to it as you read the lyrics online.

Special mention must be made to #21, Paincake Patrol’s Reactor (plus Why I Can’t Write You a Love Poem by Carla Nicoyco). I’ve been claiming all year that I’m Paincake Patrol’s #1 fan and I do think this is the reason why he asked me to do the write-ups for his LP Consonance / Dissonance (Available for purchase here!), which was launched last August 6. If you’re wondering though, why none of Paincake Patrol’s tracks are in the top 10, my excuse/actual reason is that I have the mp3s of Paincake Patrol’s songs so I normally listen to his music offline.

Anyway, the album Consonance / Dissonance has 15 tracks, each of which I wrote a story for. It wasn’t easy as I had to listen to each track carefully and repeatedly as I recalled the artist’s explanation for them and then incorporate those explanations into the stories I wrote. But it was a real interesting challenge for me and my writing skills, and though I’m sure not everyone will agree that the stories are good, I’m quite proud of what I was able to come up with and consider this one of my greatest accomplishments this year. Sure, it’s not exactly a book published by Bloomsbury or even Adarna House, and the original ideas for the stories aren’t completely mine, but still it’s an anthology that I think adds a lot of value to the entirety of the album, we’ve received many positive reviews about it, and I think collaborative works should be celebrated, don’t you?

Here is a page from the booklet that the LP comes with, featuring one of my stories and corresponding art by Zom Kashwak:

everythingends
Photo taken from Paincake Patrol’s Instagram

And the song on Spotify if you’d like to have a listen:

The whole album is on Spotify, too, if you’d like to check out the other songs. But to get a copy of the album itself, and the booklet that contains my stories, you’ll have to order here. (Please do!)

The rest of the tracks are mostly random songs I heard from the Radio function and because I liked them as soon as I heard them, I saved them. They would play whenever I shuffle played my saved songs and since I do this more often than I choose a ready-made playlist from the Browse option, this is probably the reason why they’re in my top 100. They range from Justin Bieber and Katy Perry to instrumentals and classical music to OPM and J-pop. I do believe that the way to truly appreciate music is to listen to all kinds of it and though I’m still really just listening to Pop basically, I’m happy to see songs/tracks from so many different genres in my playlist. If I ever need to be reminded that my life isn’t some stagnant, boring construct, I have only need to listen to this.

So, my 2016’s been fun, eclectic and emotional, according to my music preferences. How about you?

Leave a Reply

