Is it really 2016?

Posting this here because I am a coward who doesn’t want to be attacked on Facebook. LOL.

Anyway, I’m really happy for my friends that they’re having a baby, but they chose to announce the sex of their baby this way:

Screenshot_2016-06-22-17-48-36

They want to tell the world that they’re having a boy. Or a girl who’s into sports, maybe? It’s a little sexist, don’t you think? I mean, what if their kid turns out to be bad at sports? Or good at sports but the sport he likes is bowling? And why use sports-related pictures to tell people they’re having a boy, anyway? Can’t girls be good at sports, too? How do they know their kid will be an athlete? Can’t he be into music or literature? What’s wrong with just saying the word “boy?”

I feel kind of sad that I saw this posted by people I actually know in real life. And it’s 2016.

4 thoughts on “Is it really 2016?

Leave a Reply

