I Have Access to Your Twitter

You didn’t even bother to ask if you could borrow my phone. Or, okay, you did the first time. But mostly it was to ask how to use it. Not, if it was alright that you did. Not that I minded. You were surprised my phone didn’t have a password, that’s how much I didn’t mind. And it was not the first time you took something personal of mine and looked at it. You’ve looked at the business and identification cards that have accumulated in my wallet before. As well, in the past, I have looked at the receipts in your wallet and changed the color scheme on your phone. You changed it back immediately, but that was just the kind of relationship we had. So when I went into the living room and saw you sliding your thumb on my phone’s screen, I didn’t think anything of it.

It’s not a big deal to use someone else’s phone. If you ran out of credit and had an urgent phone call to make or text to send, asking to use someone else’s phone is normal, even necessary. So it’s not a big deal either that you checked your social media accounts on my phone’s browser and watched some music videos on my phone’s YouTube app. Even though those aren’t necessarily urgent matters.

But you didn’t log out any of your accounts. And you didn’t clear the search history. I suppose you just forgot. I don’t do those things either (Then again, it is my phone.) so I didn’t think anything of it. At first.

But now YouTube is suggesting I watch JPop music videos, because you didn’t log out of my account to access those. And now YouTube thinks we’re the same person. One’s search history is a very intimate thing, isn’t it?

And if I were so inclined, I could theoretically ruin your life, I just have to post something using your Twitter account. Can you imagine my surprise when I was expecting to check my Twitter account and saw your profile picture instead? I thought I made a mistake, but it was your Twitter alright. I was able to read the tweets of all the sports personalities you followed and everything. And that’s another thing. Sure, we follow each other on Twitter so it’s not like it would be difficult for me to find out about who else you followed. But it felt a little strange going through a Twitter feed of people that you were following, information that you were interested in. For a moment, it felt like I was in your head somehow, being able to read your thoughts, and I was able to find out interesting information about you, that you wouldn’t normally reveal or talk about unless someone asked you specifically about it.

Don’t get me wrong. I didn’t find anything embarrassing or blackmail-worthy in your tweets or on your feed; I suppose that’s why you’re so careless about logging out. But even just seeing all the things you’re interested in reading about online, in one feed like that… It felt like I was looking into your soul. Or, perhaps more accurately, it felt like I was looking at the world through your eyes.

I should log out of your account, shouldn’t I? That’s the right thing to do. The truth is, I’m not even interested in reading your Twitter feed. It’s all just about sports and video games anyway and what do I care about those, really? And no, I didn’t go so far as to going to your friends’ personal Twitter accounts and reading their tweets. I don’t have the time. So yes, I definitely should log out. Especially so I can check my own Twitter on my own phone. That’s what I should do. That’s what I will do. That’s definitely what I will get around to doing. Soon. I promise.

2 thoughts on “I Have Access to Your Twitter

Leave a Reply

