No Pictures

I met up with some friends today and we had the usual dinner, dessert & coffee night + kwentuhan, but also something else. Maybe something new. We didn’t take any pictures.

I’m not even sure why. I guess we forgot. Was it because we had so many stories to tell, there wasn’t enough time for pictures? Or we were so engrossed in the stories it totally slipped our mind to take pictures? Or perhaps my friend K is right and we’re just too old for pictures now. We’re not part of the ‘selfie generation’ and we’ve totally gotten over taking pictures of each and every experience we have. Maybe, it’s all of the above. Either way, we’re left only with the memories. But I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that. In fact, I think it’s quite the opposite.

Because if you break down our evening, nothing out of the ordinary actually happened. I mean, we had dinner at the mall. Sure, it was at a restaurant none of us have ever been, and we had quirky coffees and a 5-layer chocolate cake, but still, we were at the mall. Talk about an unexciting location.

But, as I’m sure everyone knows, it’s hardly ever about the location, nor even the food or drinks. It’s always mostly about the company. And I’m really glad the friends I’ve kept are top notch. Of course, everyone will describe their friends in this way, which is good, because that means that you all know what I mean.

Anyway, the reason for our get-together earlier this evening was to meet C’s new boyfriend. C’s been single for quite some time so it’s intriguing and exciting that she has a boyfriend now. Naturally, being girls, and her friends, we wanted to meet him, and see what he’s all about.

So far, he’s okay. I’d like to say that he’s more than okay, but it’s really too soon to tell. Also, we totally have trust issues so we’re not deciding on anything yet. Not that anything is for us to decide, but friends’ opinions are important, aren’t they? Of course I’m only talking about the friends you really trust. Not casual acquaintances who feel like their opinions are gold.

I’m genuinely happy for C that she has a boyfriend who seems to be a good guy. I hope he doesn’t turn out to be a jerk. He doesn’t seem like it, but you never know, right?

As for our food, we had Japanese food and then cake and coffee, all as per K’s recommendation. Everything was yummy. K really has good taste in food. Well, that’s part of the reason why you’re friends with your friends, right? Because you have the same taste in most things. And M didn’t mind any of the places we went to either. In fact, M and I totally want to go back to that cafe. I kind of forgot its name, but I remember where it is so that should be fine. 😛

I had a really great time tonight and it was so much more fun than the last time. What I mean by that, well, because I actually took a test today, and met up with my friends after that. Last year, I took a similar exam, but instead of going out with my friends afterwards, I ate a burger alone at a fastfood joint in front of the school where the test was held and went to church with my parents to attend mass, that I didn’t get to finish because halfway through it I felt like I was going to throw up. Not because of the mass, but because of the bad cheap burger I had. I went back to the car to sleep and spent the rest of the night with a splitting headache. So… yeah. Cheap burger after an exam that gave me something akin to an anxiety attack, really not a good idea. But meeting with friends and telling stories about our crushes (because you know, my maturity level is still at high school level), I’d say is definitely one of the best ways to spend time after said exam. Now, if only the chances of me failing it weren’t so big. 😩

Leave a Reply

