One of my Favorites in Italy

So late last October to early November, I went with my parents (and sister and brother-in-law) to Europe. We went to Norway, Germany and Italy, but we spent most of our time in Italy. In Italy we spent most of our time in Rome and on our last day there, we went to Parco degli Acquedotti.

It’s a public park that’s near a residential area, a cinema and even a train station so I suppose to the people there it’s not a big deal anymore. We saw some picnic tables and people who were jogging, too. Just like you would see at a regular park. Except, it’s not a regular park. It has some of the most beautiful aqueducts in existence.

I didn’t even know what aqueducts were until we got to Rome and my friend J, who is an architect, told me that I should find them. I don’t think they’re something that most tourists normally include in their itinerary. In fact, we didn’t see any other tourists when we were there, which I guess is a good thing because we felt like we had the park all to ourselves, but also kind of a shame, because that meant that so many people miss seeing it. And when we went there it was almost sunset so the aqueducts were bathed in light.

Nowadays, because of how far camera technology has come and how easy the Internet makes it to see amazing photography, it’s hard to find a place that is still breathtaking even after you’ve seen a version of it under perfect lighting conditions in ultra-high definition on a big screen. But Parco degli Acquedotti, is almost otherworldly.

I only wish we could’ve spent more time there.

PhotoGrid_1384036111308

Leave a Reply

