Grimm and Creepy

WTH Grimm. I watch episodes of this show only sporadically because I still haven’t made up my mind if I like it or not. For one, I really dislike Juliet (the main female character, sort of) and the main villain doesn’t seem all that powerful to me. It is however, very enjoyable to watch some episodes because of the interesting monsters-of-the-week and Monroe.

But I watched the episode this week because of Sgt. Wu. Because he’s from the Philippines. Because as it turns out, the actor who plays him is from the Philippines! That was a nice surprise. I knew Reggie Lee was in Prison Break and I was surprised to see him in Crazy, Stupid, Love and here, and in a similar role, too. I saw on his Wikipedia page that he was also in Pirates of the CarribeanThe Fast and the Furious and The Dark Knight Rises, but I can’t remember that I saw him on those films. Anyway, I think out of all the Filipino-American actors I’ve heard of, he’s the most successful as he’s the one I’ve seen the most in the TV shows and movies that I don’t have to go out of my way to watch.

And in last week’s episode of Grimm, Mommy Dearest, he was more or less the focus. Because their monster-of-the-week was an Aswang. Yes, that Aswang. And it was, unsurprisingly, really scary.

grimm1

I’m quite sure this isn’t the first time that the Aswang has been featured in a non-Filipino show/piece of literature before, but it makes sense that if they’re going to get anything from Filipino folklore, they would pick the Aswang because it is seriously one of the scariest things you can ever hear about (or see, if you’re lucky/unlucky).

The episode scared me to bits. The ticking sound that you could hear whenever there’s an Aswang nearby gave me chills. I’m glad they included it in the show. It’s a simple thing, really, and probably not at all scary for someone who didn’t hear about the Aswang “myth” as a child, but I did, and I’ve seen a lot of movies with Aswang in them, and that sound seriously creeps me out.

So, well done, Grimm! I may be very biased because I’m Filipino, but I think this was a really good episode! Although, I will say that I hope that Sgt. Wu just dismisses this as an isolated case and doesn’t find out about Nick Burkhardt’s secret. I think it’s good that there’s a recurring character who’s not in on the supernatural stuff on the show. That said, I am glad that they featured the Aswang. So okay, maybe I have mixed feelings about this actually. Whatever happens, I hope it’ll be good for the show because this is one of the shows that I would like to have more success.

Leave a Reply

