Movies, People

Elf and Snow

Right. I’m calling it.

Kit Harington is the new Orlando Bloom.

orlando-kit

Not that Orlando Bloom is old news. I still enjoyed seeing him in The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug. But the magic of Legolas was so 13 years ago, and he’s a dad now and stuff so I’m sure he’s got more important things to do. Kit Harington on the other hand, is relatively, just starting out. Hence, he can be my new obsession. 😀

You can’t ignore the similarities between them. They both became famous because of a fantasy series–The Lord of the Rings for Orlando Bloom, Game of Thrones for Kit Harington. And they’re arguably the two best fantasy series that exist (so far). And they play somewhat similar characters, both kind of quiet and brooding, despite one being an elf that has white hair and many white clothes and the other wearing all black clothes and using black weapons and stuff.

In real life, they’re both English, they both have dark curly hair, and… Well those are really all the similarities you need to be compared to each other.

Although it actually wasn’t LOTR and GoT that made me think of their similarities. I just watched Pompeii, where Kit Harington plays Milo. And I think because it’s a period piece, I was reminded of Orlando Bloom’s Paris in Troy. I know, their stories are very different. Troy’s scale is more grand and Pompeii is half a disaster movie. But I think you get my point.

Or if you don’t, that’s okay. Here is a picture of Kit Harington in Pompeii:

kitharington

That’s what matters. 😉

Now, after posting that photo, I realize that anything else I say may be deemed irrelevant, but anyway… I hope Kit Harington makes a movie like Elizabethtown in the future. I know that movie got bad reviews but it was one of the few movies where we got to see Orlando Bloom as a normal person (and not as an elf or a pirate or whatnot) and I really liked that experience. Here’s a screenshot so you know what I’m talking about:

orlando1

Interesting note: Orlando Bloom was 27 when the movie Troy came out, and Kit Harington is 27 this year that Pompeii is out. Coincidence? I think not!

Hence, I feel like this quote (from another fantasy series) encapsulates the whole point of this blog entry about Kit Harington of today and Orlando Bloom of 10 years ago:

It… feels like it did before.” – Sirius Black

And I don’t even care that Sirius Black was actually talking about how there was going to be a second wizarding war.

Leave a Reply

