Wedding Weekend

image

And a mere three and a half days after going to Boracay, I went to yet another one of the best summer destinations in the Philippines, Bohol! This year is starting out really really well. πŸ˜€

I went to Bohol for a very important reason, though. One of my sister’s best friends got married! Her family is from Bohol so they had the wedding there. I’m actually really flattered that she invited me to her wedding since it was a very intimate affair (only 50 guests!) and it’s really my sister who’s her friend. But my sister’s friends are nice enough to treat me like their little sister, too. πŸ™‚

I left Manila early Saturday morning and got back Monday afternoon. This I think is one of the best advantages of being in the night shift. It was a 3-day 2-night trip, but I didn’t have to file any leaves for work! Lucky me. I was also able to get discounted tickets from Air Asia. And good deals re: my accommodations because my sister’s friends and my sister and her husband were kind enough to allow me to sleep on an extra bed in the rooms that they booked. πŸ™‚

For the first night, I stayed with my sister’s friends at Dubay Panglao Beachfront Resort. It’s a simple resort with basic amenities (i.e. shampoo, soap, towel, hot/cold shower) but it’s along a beach so beautiful that the basics are really all that you need. On the second night, I stayed with my sister and her husband at Amarela Resort. This resort, on the other hand, is very pretty and classy. It has a library, a room with a view, an infinity pool and everything! Although, the beach near it is smaller and the waves are stronger in the area so it’s more difficult to swim there. I guess all resorts have their advantages and disadvantages.

The wedding itself was in another resort in the area, Panglao Island Nature Resort and Spa. If I’m not mistaken, it’s the biggest resort in Panglao island. It’s one of the nicest ones, too. The function room made for some really pretty pictures and we enjoyed the coffee and snacks that we ordered at the restaurant after the wedding. And yes, we went to the restaurant to eat again after the wedding. I don’t think that’s strange at all. πŸ˜›

Actually there was another eating event at the bride’s house the day after the wedding. And I say eating event because we really didn’t do anything else there but tell stories and eat (and, ok, drink tequila hehehe). I had lechon three times in one weekend! I guess it’s not good for me, but the lechon in Cebu/Bohol is really delicious! I don’t know why lechon places in Manila can’t make lechon that good.

It occurred to me as I was going home that this was my 4th visit to Bohol. When I went to Boracay this year, it was my 4th time there, too. There are many other places I’ve never been to, but I think these are two places that I’ll never get tired of.

And best wishes to X and U. May you guys continue to live happily ever after. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

