Hello, 2014!

I’d been trying to write a recap entry for the last year since a few weeks ago but only got around to it now, when 2014’s already begun. Oh well. That “new year” feeling is still in the air anyway. (But of course, before we know it, I’ll be writing a “Hello, 2015” entry.)

So. What can I say about 2013? It was definitely a year of the highest of highs and the lowest of lows. I don’t want to do a full recap because it will just make me too emotional so I’m just going to give you a short version:

Highest of highs – a family trip to Europe and my brother’s wedding extravaganza at El Nido

Lowest of lows – a close friend died of a heart attack (and everything else that was bad pales in comparison)

But it’s a new year and though I’m sure there will again be many ups and downs (When is there ever none?), I’ll do my best to end the year on a happy note, which I think is what I did this year. Tie up loose ends so I can start things fresh.

As much as I hate to admit that the small change in number at the end of how we write the date can affect our lives greatly, I must say that it really does help me a lot. Imagine if we didn’t actually keep track of time and dates and years and our entire lives was just one long period of time without the markers of age or anniversaries or New Year’s Day… However would we be able to move forward with our lives? Time may be an imposed construct but it’s one of the rare times that I appreciate the imposition.

I read a quote in that past that said that there are some years that asked questions and some years that answered them. I think for me, 2012 was a year that asked many questions and most of them were in fact answered in 2013. So I’m assuming that 2014 will be a year that asks questions again. I wonder what questions they will be.

Leave a Reply

