Life, Movies, Writing

Not the best use of a Casablanca reference, but oh well…

Richard Blaine, American. Age, thirty-seven. Cannot return to his country.

Why is it that I can relate more to guys in stories rather than the girls? Or, the bad guys, rather than the good guys? Oh no wait, I know. It’s because they’re the ones who don’t get a happy ending.

You all know the famous Casablanca quote, I’m sure:

“Of all the gin joints in all the towns in all the world, she walks into mine.”

This, of course, is said by Rick, who is questioning Fate. Because why did Fate let him and Ilsa meet, when it’s just going to tear them apart? Well, Fate hasn’t been on my side lately, which breaks my heart, because I used to think we were BFFs. So, I thought of my own twist to that Casablanca quote. And here it is:

“But my gin joint is just like all the gin joints in all the towns in all the world… Why couldn’t she have walked into mine?”

Of course, this quote would totally work better if I was a guy, because it sounds weird when I say something like “Why couldn’t she have…” But it would even be weirder if I changed it to “Why couldn’t he have…” because I’m a girl, but I own a gin joint. I’m not saying girls aren’t allowed to have gin joints. It’s just that, it’s not in my personality to be the kind of person to own a gin joint. Grrr Society. Why did you impose these roles on us? Does it entertain you that there are girls who think it’s awkward if we sell alcohol and guys think it’s weird if they like ballet?

1 thought on “Not the best use of a Casablanca reference, but oh well…”

Leave a Reply

