February!

It’s February!

In case you don’t know me, or haven’t really been reading my blog, then I have to tell you, this is my favorite month of the year. 😀 I will give you the following non-girly reasons like because it’s unique — it’s the only month that has 28 or 29 days, and that my sister’s birthday is in February, and that in the Philippines, it’s kinda cold because of the weather hangover from December, but also hot because of the start of summer, but really, the biggest reason is that it’s the location of my favorite holiday — Valentine’s Day!

Why do I love Valentine’s Day so much? I know people hate it and say it’s useless, but… Look, if there’s a holiday for scary stuff (Halloween), then there should darn well be a holiday for love stuff. And so, to celebrate L-O-V-E, I will start the month with a blog entry of some of my favorite romantic dialogue from some of my favorite TV Couples (those I haven’t featured in the entry like this one from February last year).

Chuck and Sarah
(from Chuck)

“Chuck, I fell for you a long, long time ago. After you fixed my phone and before you started diffusing bombs with viruses.” – Sarah Walker, Chuck VS The Other Guy (Chuck S3E13)

So, aside from that Zachary Levi (Chuck) is too cute for words, I love this show because of Chuck and Sarah’s love story. They’re just so cute together. Plus, it’s a geek gets girl love story! And, you know, that’s always nice.

This particular piece of dialogue, I love the most, because Sarah’s actually referring to what happened to them in the Pilot Episode of the series (!!!). Chuck first met Sarah when she went into the Buy More (where Chuck works as a computer technician) to get her fake phone fixed, and then they went on a date, and towards the end of the episode, they found themselves in a room with a bomb and 30 seconds to live. Chuck, despite not being a super spy like Sarah, has mad knowledge of computer viruses (virii?) and so uses that to diffuse the bomb (not realistic of course, but hey, it’s a TV show!). He saves their lives.

Of course, after this, there will be 2 entire seasons where the two of them never say to each other how they really feel, and the audience never knows if Sarah even likes Chuck, so her admission here that she’s been in love with him since the pilot episode, well, it’s just epic. *dreamy sigh*

Buffy and Angel
(from Buffy the Vampire Slayer)

What about me? I love you so much. And I tried to make you go away. I killed you and it didn’t help. And I hate it! I hate that it’s so hard and that you can hurt me so much. I know everything that you did, because you did it to me. I wish that I wished you dead. I don’t. I can’t.– Buffy, Amends (Buffy the Vampire Slayer S3E10)

One the ingenious things in Buffy is how there are statements like these — “I killed you and it didn’t help”, which are kind of funny when taken out of context and if you don’t know the history of the characters, and then they’re used in dramatic scenes.

Amends is the episode where The First Evil appears to Angel and tries to convince him to kill himself because he’d done terrible things in the past when he was a soulless vampire. And Angel nearly does kill himself, going to the top of a hill where the sun would burn him and turn him to dust (because he’s a real vampire). Buffy gets there to stop him, telling him that she loves him despite his sordid history, hence the speech. And then a miracle happens and it snows in Sunnydale, California (the fictitious town where Buffy is set). Because of the blizzard, the sun doesn’t shine, and Angel stays alive. The photo is of him and Buffy walking down mainstreet and for the first time, during morning (well, early morning).

Chuck and Blair
(from Gossip Girl)

Blair: What if we need games? What if without them we’re boring?
Chuck: We can never be boring.
Blair: You say that but, I know you. You’re Chuck Bass.
Chuck: I’m not Chuck Bass, without you.

Chuck and Blair, Reversals of Fortune (Gossip Girl S3E1)

Awwwww! 🙂 I really was hesitant to watch Gossip Girl before because I normally don’t like teen dramas where there are no supernatural elements involved (e.g. I really love Buffy and Roswell (and Smallville — at least, the earlier seasons) but hate Party of Five and Dawson’s Creek) but Chuck and Blair’s will-they-won’t-they was just too cute. And I think me liking them says something because I usually like the Opposites Attract pairings, but Chuck and Blair aren’t like that. They’re so similar you’d think they’d be a boring couple, but like Chuck said, “We can never be boring.”

Also, his line here, “I’m not Chuck Bass, without you.” is particularly sweet because a lot of times in the show, he says the line “I’m Chuck Bass.” as the reason for why he’s so great and why everybody should be intimidated by him, etc. But it’s totally true, that he would be nothing without Blair. They’re just so great together.

[EDIT 2/1/2011] And after watching the latest episode, S4E13 Damien Darko, I think it totally holds up. Chuck’s current storyline — the fight for Bass Industries, and his new affair with the “enemy’s daughter” is just boring. (And Blair is a little out-of-character in her storyline with Dan as well. But I can’t help but be biased and like their story still because I love Dan, too. (or actually, Penn Badgley))

Mal and Inara
(from Firefly)

Inara: You two sound like you’re quite a match.
Mal: Maybe you’re right. Maybe we’re soulmates.
Inara: Yes. Great. I wish you hundreds of fat children.
Mal: Can you imagine that? Me with a passel of critters underfoot? Ten years time I could teach ’em to —
Inara: Can you leave me alone for five minutes, please?

– Mal and Inara, Our Mrs Reynolds (Firefly, Episode 6)

So, Firefly isn’t exactly known for the romances between its characters, and Mal and Inara are actually the pair with the least amount of attention (OK, maybe it’s it’s a toss-up because they at least had the Heart of Gold episode, while there are no Simon-Kaylee centric episodes (Wash and Zoe have War Stories)) and they also never got together (not even in the movie), but how great were their banters, huh?

“It’s what they’re not saying.” A fan said of their relationship and yeah, that’s really what made it great. Without actually saying anything as direct as “I like/love you”, but you see it in the way they interact that they have deeper feelings for each other. The quote I mentioned here is from Our Mrs. Reynolds where Mal “accidentally” marries a girl from a planet they just passed, and Inara just gets so jealous. She couldn’t even stand him talking about possibly having kids with the other girl.

I love it. I love subtle stuff like that. Also, I really like it when characters get jealous because it’s a way of acknowledging their feelings without being direct. They’re way more interesting to watch than the cliche of blatant declarations of love in airports.


So, that’s 4 couples for now. Maybe I’ll write about movie couples in the future. In the mean time, have a happy February everyone! 😀

Leave a Reply

