Movies, TV

10 Quotes from 10 Things I Hate About You

I did say in the last entry 10 Things I Like About This TV Series that I was going to post my favorite quotes from the show. I don’t normally take down notes when watching TV, but sometimes I hear bits and pieces of dialogue and I just think “I have to write that down!” And with a pen and paper already on hand, I was able to write down all my favorite lines for all 20 episodes.

Here they are:

“Whoa! It’s like your mouth knows Kung Fu!” – Mandela to Kat, after Kat tells off a “stalker”. Kudos for The Matrix reference of sorts.

Patrick: Are you looking for me?
Kat: I am if you’re the Ladies’ Room.

– I love this because they’re lines that I could imagine the original Patrick (Heath Ledger) and Kat (Julia Stiles) saying. Β And in the “Club Skunk scene”, too.

“Now you know how the Earth feels.” – Kat to Patrick after throwing trash over his head. She wanted to make a point that it’s bad to litter. Funny and I wish I could do it to other people who I see littering, too.

“You better treat her right. Or, I’m going to treat you wrong.” – Joey to the jock who wanted to take Bianca out
– Of all the changes they made from the movie, I’m happy about this one best, that they made Joey a nice guy, though still conceited.

“I’m not angry, I’m just hurt. I’m disappointed and for some reason, I can’t listen to the radio.” – Cameron, about his feelings after Bianca told him she wasn’t interested
– I think I like this quote because I could totally relate to not being able to listen to the radio when you feel heartbroken. I mean, all those songs about love? You suddenly can relate to all of them and all of them make you sick. πŸ˜•

“You broke into school to take a test?” – Bianca to Kat

Kat: Feminism. Ever heard of it?
Bianca: Hm. Isn’t that the thing that killed Romance?

– Another exchange that I could see in the movie. Though I’m still not crazy about the girl who plays Kat here, the chemistry between her and Bianca was really good and made their scenes enjoyable to watch.

Bianca: It’s like the 6th grade all over again when my two best friends went to Wild Water Kingdom without me.
Joey: I know it’s not the same, but I’ll go to Wild Water Kingdom with you.
Bianca: Thanks.
Joey: No I mean, for real. It sounds awesome!

“When I look into your eyes, I can see how good-looking I am.” – Joey to Bianca

Cameron: It’d be like he’s a book and you’re Oprah’s seal of approval. You’re that powerful.
Chastity: He’d be like my own little version of that school in South Africa!

“Don’t think I’m not happy for you because I am. I mean, your abs are gonna be on national television!” – Bianca to Joey


Aha! I notice now that I didn’t write any of Patrick’s lines down. I guess that means he’s the weakest link of all. I mean, in the movie, Heath Ledger was amazing. “More importantly, don’t ever let anyone make you feel like you don’t deserve what you want!” Patrick says to Cameron when he was just about to give up on Bianca. Gosh. I miss him.

1 thought on “10 Quotes from 10 Things I Hate About You”

Leave a Reply

