Closest and Oldest

Time for something about real life! Puro na lang ako blog entries tungkol sa pagka-fangirl at kung anu-anong opinyon ko, kaya magkukwento naman ako ngayon ng mga bagay na totoo. Para ‘di naman ako masyado mukhang walang life. Haha! Pero I’m sure, kung hindi ko pa birthday ‘eh hindi talaga ako lumabas ng bahay. Anyway, kwento ko lang how I celebrated my birthday this year. πŸ™‚

If any of you remembers, I try to spend my birthday differently every year. I said it in this entry. Pero hanggang 24 lang ang kinwento ko diyan. That’s because last year, my birthday celebration was as subdued as ever. I celebrated at home with only 2 friends, and we spent the time watching The Big Bang Theory. I suppose it should’ve been a bigger celebration, considering that last year was when I turned 25, but 25 is just a number anyway.

I was planning on doing the same this year, but I guess fate had other ideas because come the week before my birthday, I found myself being contacted by some of my oldest friends, whom I haven’t spoken to for a long time. And because I missed them all, I invited them all to dinner. I knew some of them weren’t very close with my other friends, but I figured what the heck. Although it was only when Saturday night came that I realized how strange my friends all are. I mean, how strange it is that I have friends from a smattering of different groups.

In college, I had a pretty stable group of friends, and they were my only friends for the entire duration of college. I mean sure, we had other friends from our other classes, but the ones who remained close were really just us. But in high school, it was a different story. Although I was part of one “barkada”, I was friends with lots of other people from other barkadas. I was close with my fellow writers for the school publications, and then some of my classmates from different years. So when we all got together last Saturday, I found myself among a strange combination of people that I don’t think anyone from our high school would’ve thought to see together.Β And because I love them all for their individuality, I will talk about them here. πŸ™‚

(from left to right)

J1 – one of my oldest friends, we met when we were 6 years old and have been best friends ever since. She was also in the school paper with me in grade school and high school, but I know she wasn’t really interested in writing and only joined the club for me πŸ™‚ She’s really more interested in drawing though, and true enough, she’s now an architect. No, really. She’s passed the board exam and all.

M1 – my only friend from college who went (can’t really blame the others though because i did give very short notice). We were blockmates in freshman year but became close when we started taking major subjects. Because we had the same major: Japanese Studies. (Explains my obsession about all things Japanese, doesn’t it?) She’s an artist, too.

J2 – definitely my oldest friend from school, we met on my very first day in kindergarten. I was 4 years old. And now, this will sound really strange, but what brought us together was music. 😯 IKR!? Her mom was a music teacher in our school and believe it or not, I used to take piano lessons. So we were both always at the music room after classes and because we’re both too talkative, naturally, we became friends. I guess we drifted apart when we were in high school because we were in different classes and had different interests then, I’d also stopped taking piano lessons, but we’ve found our way back to being friends recently. πŸ™‚

M2 – I think we became close in my first year of high school, but I don’t remember why. Did we like the same music or the same books or TV shows? I really don’t remember. I guess it’s just one of those friendships you can’t explain. But we were really close, even going on impromptu trips to McDo with just the two of us so we could gossip about everyone else. You know what, I think it’s because we liked to gossip about the same people. πŸ˜‰ Haha!

(from left to right)

J3 – also one of my oldest friends, but we didn’t meet until 3rd grade. I guess we became close because we were both addicted to Sweet Valley books and now, 18 years later, we’re still close because we’re still obsessed with books. Although, our tastes have varied, since I never got over the “love stories” phase, but she’s moved on to reading “serious” books like The Lovely Bones and books by V.C. Andrews. She was also in the newspaper with me in grade school and high school. I know she and J1 both weren’t too interested in writing, but they joined the club for me anyway. I love them to death. πŸ™‚

L – we didn’t meet until high school, she was a new student at our school in freshman year and she was classmates with J3. But we didn’t become really close until junior year, when she joined the newspaper, too. She became our Literary Editor because of her awesome poetry. Ano nang trabaho niya ngayon? Well, doctor lang naman! πŸ˜€

I – this is me.

M3 – my tallest friend. Haha! But don’t let her mistisa looks fool you, she’s as Filipino as you can get (speaks Tagalog and Ilonggo), and really very down-to-earth. Although she obviously looks like a supermodel, she was the one who approached me and J1 freshman year in high school and asked if she could sit with us at lunch. But what really brought us closer was Dave Matthews. As in, Dave Matthews Band. And Veruca Salt. And Toad the Wet Sprocket. And Gin Blossoms. While fellow teen girls were swooning over the Backstreet Boys and Boyzone, we were dreaming of becoming rock stars. We drifted apart in college because we went to different schools, but have more or less kept in touch through text and YM.

And there you go, some of my closest and oldest friends. πŸ™‚ There are more, of course, but I didn’t get to invite them. Sorry about that. I only decided that I would have this dinner the day before it actually happened, so I only texted the people I was already talking with at the time. Plus, I can’t really treat everyone because you know, I’m unemployed and short on funds. I am immensely happy about AVeneto’s big servings that made this all possible.

Anyway, it was a happy birthday for me. πŸ™‚ I got to reconnect with the Β people I don’t usually see, and remember how lucky I am. I’m 26 and I have awesome friends, despite all my anti-socialness. The universe needs to give these people very big blessings for remaining to be friends with difficult me. Hehehe.

P.S. NO BOYS ALLOWED! – A few hours before dinner, M3 texted me asking if I only invited girls or were boyfriends included in my invitation. My reply? “Well, considering that only you and J1 have boyfriends to bring, and she’s not brining hers, I think it’s safe to say that we’ll all be girls tonight.” Haha!
One thought on “Closest and Oldest

Leave a Reply

