Movies, People, TV

My Geeky Love @-‘-,–

Time to fan girl.

You have been warned. 😉 Hehe.

Not that it’s a secret, but I don’t think people know the extent of my geekiness. No, seriously. I guess the problem is that I’m not as geeky as most when it comes to the real geeky stuff like video games, gadgets, and (ugh) Star Wars. But, in general, I think I’m a big enough fan of the fantasy/sci-fi universe of TV and movies that I can call myself a geek. Or if not, I know for certain that I’m a big enough fangirl of the geeky characters on TV and movies. Don’t believe me? Read on to see my favorite

Geeks of Hollywood!

Oh and just in case some of you want to object, I really mean the word “geek” as a compliment. I’m not making fun of them or anything. I totally love these guys.

(P.S. It’s limited to Hollywood stars because Asian shows don’t normally have these stereotype characters, at least, not in those that I’ve seen so far. Oh, and

P.P.S. Sorry if the pictures are sucky. I used Paint. Yes, Paint. I’m a graphics idiot.)

10.  Sean Astin

Sean Astin

Believe it or not, I really did first see Sean Astin as the adventurous albeit asthmatic pre-teen in the “kid movie” Goonies. I wouldn’t see him again until he was older, in Encino Man, along with Brendan Fraser and Pauly Shore, and he looked totally different then, but his character was still the same shy-around-girls but all-around nice guy, sort of. Of course now, more people know him as the hobbit Samwise Gamgee, or Frodo’s sidekick, which admittedly doesn’t fall under the stereotype but come on, you can’t get any geekier than getting cast in The Lord of the Rings.

9. DJ Qualls

DJ Qualls

I don’t remember anymore where I first saw this guy, but I do remember where I first started to like him. Oddly enough, it was in a movie that I just randomly saw in Cinemax, Chasing Holden. He played a guy who was obsessed about Holden Caulfield and so lived his life similar to that of the character (Yes! It was a dramatic role!). I guess it’s not the best movie in the world, but it did get me interested to read the book that the movie was about, The Catcher in the Rye.

He also played a genius boy in The Core (who if I remember correctly, asked for Star Trek DVDs before he went to help the scientists) and has already guested in The Big Bang Theory. The episode was even named after his character Toby Loobenfeld, The Loobenfeld Decay. And thanks to IMDB, I find out now that he was also a guest in Numb3rs, another geeky show (I don’t know why I can’t remember that episode).

So he’s not really who you would call a “good-looking guy”, but he did clean up nicely in The New Guy. Sort of. Hehe.

8. Jerry O’Connell

Jerry O'Connell

I know what you’re thinking, football star Cushman from Jerry Maguire can’t possibly be a geek! But did you all forget where he started? He’s Vern from the 1986 movie, Stand By Me. And mind you, Vern was the dorkiest of the bunch in that movie. He was “the fat kid” then. Of course, that all changed when he got cast the lead role in My Secret Identity. And come Sliders, he was known as a heartthrob. Of course that was still a science fiction series, so it didn’t last too long and well he didn’t really get cast in other geeky roles after that. But still, I will always remember him most as Quinn Mallory — the absolute perfect person to get stuck traveling through parallel worlds with.

7. Giuseppe Andrews

Giuseppe Andrews

Giuseppe who? Right. I’ll make it easier for you. His real name is actually Joey Andrews, but he goes by Giuseppe. Anyway, he plays a lot of strange and different characters, but is in this list mainly because he was a Denominator in Never Been Kissed, but wait a minute– he played a bass guitarist in Detroit Rock City, too, and that’s pretty cool. I guess. Although in that movie he did wear a Kiss belt buckle, and actually let himself get beat up by his friends to get into a rock concert. Hehe. Plus, he is Tobey Maguire’s friend in Pleasantville and Germ in Two Guys and a Girl, so yes, I think he fits into this category quite well. 🙂

6. Wil Wheaton

Wil Wheaton

I mostly just like him because whenever I see him guest star in shows I remember the good ol’ Star Trek: The Next Generation days, which is actually a bit weird, because I can hardly remember what happened in an episode of that series. I mean, I remember some scenes here and there, I remember Wesley because he was a kid, but the truth is, I was too young to understand what it was about exactly, I didn’t even know that Wesley was supposed to be annoying. I like Wil Wheaton just the same, or maybe because it was him who I liked in Stand By Me. Yes, back then, I liked him more than River Phoenix. (I know. What was I thinking?! Haha!)

He has since been a guest star in The Big Bang Theory, playing himself, or rather, an evil version of himself. And although I didn’t really like the episodes he was in, I’m happy he was there. Way to represent the actors in the sci-fi/fantasy genre! 🙂

5. Jim Parsons

Jim Parsons

Well, surely you know this guy by now. His character in The Big Bang Theory, the annoying child prodigy genius physicist, is really great. So great in fact, that it got him an Emmy. 🙂 So yeah, hopefully we’ll see more of him, and maybe even in roles that aren’t geeks, too. He made a pretty good knight in Garden State after all (even if he was just a fastfood knight 😉 ). Oh, and I really want to mention that I love watching his interviews. He seems real nice and down-to-earth in real-life and just all-around likeable. 🙂

4. David Krumholtz

Probably one of the most underrated actors, (ah, but aren’t they all underrated?) I really like David Krumholtz because he plays a lot of different characters (although recently he’s mostly just Charlie Eppes), but each character will make a lasting impression on you. Although I was mooning over Cameron (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) in 10 Things I Hate About You, I never forgot that his friend Michael was a pretty fun character, too. And although I think Rob Morrow (Don Eppes) has one of the best smiles in Hollywood, I still love Charlie Eppes to bits. 🙂

3. Jay Baruchel

I first liked him as the other genius in Numb3rs, Oscar Kittner. I loved that he became a recurring character and wished he had more to do, but he didn’t. So imagine my delight when I found out that he got cast as the lead in The Sorcerer’s Apprentice. 😀 Though it turned out to be not the greatest movie in the world, I still love it simply for the fact that Jay Baruchel is there. My favorite scene is the one where he and the lead girl were in his lab, listening to the One Republic song and he said, “which is nerdy!” and then he pointed to himself. It was so adorable. 🙂 Plus, he’s the lead voice actor in the first (and so far only) Dreamworks animation movie that doesn’t suck. Need I say more?

2. Jonathan Brandis

Right. I’m probably one of the only 10 people in the world who still remember SeaQuest, so let me introduce you to Jonathan Brandis. He played Lucas Wolenczak, genius boy extraordinaire who can talk to dolphins aboard SeaQuest, a submarine-like ship but way way better. Anyway, the show was cancelled after only 2 and 1/2 seasons, but guess what, majority of its audience were teenage girls. A sci-fi series that was originally marketed for a male audience, because of the hi-tech gadgets and sea exploration going on, garnered a female audience instead. Because of Lucas Wolenczak. Yes, he was that cute. Unfortunately, Jonathan Brandis passed away in 2003. I really miss him.

1. Zachary Levi

Oh come on, surely you saw that coming. I have been fangirling about Chuck for several months now so it’s no surprise that Zachary Levi is currently number one in my list. Oh, and his picture is different from the others because I’m just that biased (at the moment). But really, the reason he’s #1 is because he doesn’t just play a geek on TV, he is an actual geek in real life. 🙂 He has said in interviews (yes, I’ve scoured YouTube for everything Zachary Levi) that what he misses the most now that he’s a moderately busy guy is having the time to play video games. And he said that his ideal lady is one who can stand watching him play video games (I can do that! Choose me please!). And he quoted Little Mermaid in one of his interviews. Little Mermaid! And he’s tall! And he has a cute smile! And he used to be shy around girls. OK, I’ve apparently been reduced to just spouting random things about him so I better wrap this up.

I can’t wait for Season 4 of Chuck.

And there you have it. But actually, you still don’t. There are tons more I would’ve wanted to include — Zachary Quinto (He’s both Spock AND Sylar, don’t you know?!), Adam Baldwin (hooray! token tough guy of the sci-fi/fantasy world), my favorite vampire but now FBI Agent, David Boreanaz, and you know, tons more. But they’re really more the jocks of the fantasy world rather than the geeks, so I didn’t think they’d fit in this post. Maybe next time. 🙂

1 thought on “My Geeky Love @-‘-,–”

Leave a Reply

