My Favorite Couples

Squeezing this in on the last day of the love month. I’m really sad to see February go and with it the Valentine Season. But… summer’s coming! So, that should be fun. But anyway, before the whole Valentine thing fades away (which I’m sure it has to some people but not to me, because as long as it’s February, Valentine’s Day is still just around the corner ;)), I’m posting my favorite couples on TV. (I was going to call them my favorite fictitious couples, but then I remembered that “fiction” is all encompassing, and that would mean that I should include couples in books, which I’m not going to, because that’s just too hard. Haha.)

***

Renji and Rukia

My two favorite characters from BLEACH and although they’re probably not going to end up together in canon, I still love them best. 🙂 I think they’re such great friends and I love it when they tease each other and squabble. They’re just so cute. 🙂

Michael and Maria

The supporting couple (as in, because they’re just supporting characters) in the TV Series Roswell. I just love how they’re both crazy on their own, and for each other. Here’s a quote so you get what I’m saying:

I wanted to say that this thing has been screwed up from the beginning. You and me. Us. Just the whole long, stupid story… But I wouldn’t trade it for anything. It’s meant so much to me, y’know. From day one, from the moment I kidnapped you and stole your car… I knew you were the girl for me. I never wanted anyone else… I still don’t. Just… Wherever I’m goin’, whatever I’m doin’, just know I’ll always love you.
– Michael to Maria, Episode 18 – Season 3, Graduation

Brennan and Booth

I love them. 5 seasons of Bones and they’re still not boring. I absolutely love ❤ It’s the classic case of opposites attract, but less obvious than “chaotic and logical” or “rich and poor”. I think it’s… EQ vs IQ, and they make something great out of it. 🙂

Tsukushi and Tsukasa

This time, it’s the classic case of rich boy and poor girl. Except that it’s really not. Because we all know that this is really about spoiled arrogant boy and the girl who had enough guts to stand up to him. 🙂 And their love story is so great that Hana Yori Dango has become one of Asia’s most epic love stories ever.

(I thought of posting the other versions of these two characters here (from the original manga/anime to the Taiwanese and Japanese re-makes, but since this is the one I’m currently watching (and the latest version), this is the picture I chose. Even if these are technically Geum Jan Di and Gu Jun Pyo, and not actually Tsukushi and Tsukasa.)

Ross and Rachel

Ross and Rachel have been the couple of FRIENDS since Episode 1, and although throughout the show they’ve had countless relationships with other people, they’ve always found their way back to each other. They’re each others’ lobster! Oh, and let’s not forget that Ross has actually been in love with Rachel ever since high school. So finally, the geek gets the girl. 🙂

Rachel isn’t involved in this conversation, but I just love what Phoebe says.

Phoebe: I just can’t decide who she looks more like, you or Rachel?
Ross: Oh what are you, kidding? She’s gorgeous, it’s all Rachel.
Phoebe: I’m sorry, for the last time, why aren’t you two together again? No, I know. I know, because you’re not in that place. Which would be fine, except you totally are.
Ross: It’s… it’s complicated okay?
Phoebe: I know. I know. I know. I know, and if you try to make it more, you might wreck it.
Ross: Yeah, exactly.
Phoebe: Right. Or, you might get everything you’ve wanted since you were fifteen.

Pausing here for a little bit just to notice that the previous couples mentioned all have the same first letter to their names. Haha. Coincidence?

Anyway, these next ones don’t have the same cute similarity, but are still really cute together (in my opinion) nonetheless.

Troy and Gabriella

Yes they count as a TV couple! Even if that particular picture is from a real movie, and they’re also a couple in real life, since they started out as a couple on a TV movie, then I say they’re a TV couple.

Anyway, I guess they also count as one of those “Opposites Attract” couples so it’s really no surprise that they’re so cute to watch. And by the way, I think the success of High School Musical is largely due to the chemistry of these two. And this quote isn’t from any of their songs, but I think it’s also somewhat fitting for that scene in the picture.

“And I don’t know why, but with you, I’d dance in a storm in my best dress, fearless.” – from Fearless, by Taylor Swift

Dr. Cox and Jordan

And finally, my absolute favorite couple. 🙂 Dr. Cox and Jordan’s relationship, is actually sort of my ideal relationship (except that they’re divorced, but their relationship works out better than if they’re married. I know it’s crazy.) They’re not perfect, and they’ve been through difficulties, but they’ve learned to accept each others’ imperfections and love each other for them, and they’re just hilarious.

I mean, Jordan, you are an unpredictable, passionate person, and you challenge me each and every day. And, honestly, that’s the reason I can imagine being with you when I’m seventy and you’re sixty-five…

***

So there you go. I hope you all enjoyed Valentine’s Season!! 😀

Posted in TV

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Couples

Leave a Reply

