Happy February!

It’s February again! My favorite month of the year! 😀 Because of Valentine’s Day of course. Valentine’s Day is my Christmas! Hence, the blog theme is red again, and it’s got flowers. 🙂

I really love this time of year. Because everyone’s either so in love or so bitter about not being in love. It’s so much fun to watch. 😈 Hehehe! Kidding aside, I really do like this time of year because this is when capitalism takes advantage of consumers, but it’s totally fine because it’s not a real holiday that we’re exploiting, unlike Christmas, when you feel guilty for being too concerned about material things because you’re supposed to be celebrating Christ’s birthday. So OK, I know that Valentine’s Day is the celebration for St. Valentine, who I read somewhere before was a priest who married couples during the time that Christians were persecuted, hence he became a sort of patron of lovers. But since there’s no concrete evidence of that, and the more likely explanation for this holiday is the one in Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind:

Valentine’s Day is a holiday invented by greeting card companies to make people feel like crap.”

Then, I’m going with that. 🙂 Here’s to consumerism and exploitation of how people feel about the ever elusive love.

To celebrate, I will be posting one love-related quote everyday until the Day of Hearts itself, February 14. At least that’s the plan. Wish me luck! 😀

Here’s the first:

* I’m totally kidding of course. Anyone who knows me personally will tell you that I really do enjoy this holiday because I’m sort of a hopeless romantic. Hopeless, being the operative word. Haha. Oh well. Not everything has to make sense anyway.

2 thoughts on “Happy February!

Leave a Reply

