I Hate Being Nitpicky

But I feel like there’s something that needs to be said regarding this incident.

Yes, atrocities were done by monsters. Yes, we hate it, and yes, justice must be served. Those people in Maguindanao did not deserve to die in the way they did. And the people responsible should absolutely not get away with anything.

But, I find it strange how people keep focusing not just on the fact that many people died, but on the fact that many journalists died.

I don’t want to be nitpicky, and I know that the horrible incident was shocking because those who got killed were civilians and members of the press, and not soliders in battle. But still… People are people. If those who died had been soldiers in battle, I wouldn’t feel any less sad for them.

A friend made an icon in LJ. It said, “Stop killing journalists.” She’s right of course. But why limit it to journalists? Why be so exclusive? Why not make an icon that says, “Stop the killing.” Period.

From The Philippine Daily Inquirer, I read that NUJP (National Union of Journalists of the Philippines) said in a statement that, “…we have seen the inutility of this government against media killings.”

Why limit it to media killings? This government has so far been inutile in just about everything except to make themselves filthy rich, emphasis on the filthy.

Anyway, I don’t think there’s much I can do about it. It is the media from whom we get this information from, and I’m grateful to them, and I understand that they’ll be real sensitive about this issue, and will find it hard to be objective every time they report on something about it. I just hope nothing this bad ever happens again, but not just to the media. To anyone.

Leave a Reply

