Interesting Parallel

Well, it’s interesting to me.

Joseph Gordon-Levitt Kubozuka Yosuke
Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Kubozuka Yosuke

Alright, so they don’t exactly look alike, and I’m obviously trying to force that by choosing pictures where they have the same haircut (or lack thereof), and are both in black and white. But physical appearance aside, I actually thought of these two as similar because of their acting ability.

I have loved loved loved Joseph Gordon-Levitt ever since I saw him. And that is, in a teeny bopper magazine that my sister used to buy. I didn’t even know who he was then, only that he starred in some show called Third Rock from the Sun, which at the time, was not being shown on TV where I’m from. Anyway, it’s because of him that I watched 10 Things I Hate About You (and not Heath Ledger, but he’s cool, too), and Treasure Planet, even though he’s just a voice actor for that one. And of course, 500 Days of Summer would just not have the same impact on me, if they’d used a different actor for Tom Hanson.

With Kubozuka Yosuke, it was different. I first saw him in Onatsuki, his “comeback” film from the alleged suicide attempt (and drug use?), but wasn’t paying too much attention on account of being Edison Chen-crazy. But then I saw him as a kid in GTO, and totally loved him in that one. So I watched more and more of his dramas/movies, and now honestly think that he’s one of the best (if not the best) actors in Japan. I mean, I love the “idols”, e.g. Yamapi, Sorimachi Takashi, etc. but Kubozuke Yosuke is a different breed. He’s one of the real actors, who aren’t just put in j-dramas and movies for screaming fangirls to scream some more. Other examples (in my opinion) of real actors are Tatsuya Fujiwara and Tamaki Hiroshi. πŸ™‚

Anyway, I just wanted to share what I thought of these two — that Joseph Gordon-Levitt is the Hollywood version of Kubozuka Yosuke, and Kubozuka Yosuke is Japan’s Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Hehe.

P.S. I don’t really know much about their personal lives, so I don’t know if they have similarities there, too, but that’s not really important.

P.P.S. Kubozuka Yosuke is a Taurus. Why Fate, why?!? (Joseph Gordon-Levitt is an Aquarius, just in case you wanted to know. And he’s 2 years younger than KY.)

Leave a Reply

