Humupa ang Unos, Isang Bahaghari!

Strange how artists react to recent events. Or should I say, it’s strange how artists react to events in general.
The visual artists created visual arts, musicians created music, writers wrote, and they were all inspired by Ondoy and Pepeng.

Rico Blanco has posted a new song on his site, and he’s not the first artist to do so. I’ve seen countless blogs and DeviantArt pages with artworks, music, and literary pieces, all related to the tragedy. And they’re all quite good.

I want to say, that this isn’t the best song I’ve heard from Rico Blanco. But I think he deserves credit for coming up with another nationalistic song. He’s already written a lot — Tayo Tayo Rin, Bandila, Posible, Biyahe Tayo, and now, Bangon. (Please tell me if I’m missing something.) Seriously, I think this is what sets him apart from a lot of other musicians out there. I mean, other artists have nationalistic songs, too. But other than the Apo Hiking Society and the other older ones, and Francis M, so far, Rico Blanco’s songs are the most honest and genuine that I’ve heard. You know what I mean, they’re the kind of songs that you know were written from the heart, and not just to sell. Or maybe I’m just biased.

But going back to the topic of Ondoy/Pepeng-inspired works, (I should get back to the topic before I just fangirl about RB) it was sort of strange, for me, when I realized that what I wrote in light of this tragedy, are jokes. Well, they’re so-called pick-up lines, but they were meant more to be funny than plausible, hence, I will call them jokes. So now I’m wondering if I’m more of a comic than an actual serious writer (but when did I ever think of myself as an actual serious writer?).

Most of my writer friends posted essays, and I mean, very intelligent and well-written essays about the events, right down to their trips to evacuation centers to hand out relief goods. But as for me, I posted jokes. I guess these kinds of events sort of gives you an insight to people’s personalities, huh? Some people immediately turn to their art, some to their affinity for helping others, and some like me, to trying to make light of the situation, which I’m not sure if it’s a good or a bad thing.

Anyway, this is me trying to take this more seriously, sharing with you, what will now be considered (by me), as the official song of the Ondoy/Pepeng tragedy.

BANGON
by Rico Blanco

Pinaluhod tayo,
sa isang hagupit
Niragasa, sinalanta,
Pinaluha

Humupa ang unos, isang bahaghari!
Dala ng bukang liwayway-
Pag-ibig
Pagkakaisa

Bangon!
Pilipinas kong mahal
akay ang pananampalataya sa may kapal
Ahon!
Buhay sa ‘yong dugo
ang tibay na tatak ng tunay na Pilipino

At nagising ang Bayanihan
Milyun-milyon naging isa
Walang kami
Walang kayo
Walang sila
Tanging ligaya
ay pag-alay ng sarili sa iba

Bangon!
Pilipinas kong mahal
akay ng pananampalataya sa may kapal
Ahon!
Taglay ng ‘yong dugo
ang tibay na tatak ng tunay na Pilipino

Hindi ka namin iiwan
Hindi tayo susuko!
Lulusong tayo’t magtatagumpay
magtatagumpay!

Bangon!
Pilipinas kong mahal
akay ang pananampalataya sa may kapal
Ahon!
Buhay sa ‘yong dugo
ang tibay na tatak ng tunay na Pilipino

Lahat nitong mga pagsubok ay ating kayang lagpasan
Lahat nitong mga pagsubok ay ating kayang lagpasan

Leave a Reply

