Last Week Already?

O eto na. Bago n’yo isiping aktibista ako dahil sa mga recent posts. Hindi ako aktibista. At eto ang totoo: This month lang ako nagbasa ng news. Seriously. Bago ang August, ni glance man lang sa front page hindi ko ginagawa. O kaya ‘yung makinig sa Unang Hirit na pinapalabas sa bus tuwing papasok ako sa opisina sa umaga, hindi ko pinapakinggan. Nagsusuot ako ng headset at nakikinig sa mp3 para maiwasan ang balita. Alam ko, mali ‘yon. ‘Pag hindi nakikinig sa balita, hindi mo malalaman kung anong nangyayari sa paligid mo. Pero naman kasi, nakakapikon ang balita ‘eh. Puro na lang corruption at politics at violence at rape. Paano ka ba naman gaganahan?

So balik tayo sa original kong theme na happy happy joy joy. Ok, no. This blog isn’t always about happy fun stuff. But I will try to keep things more positive.

Last Week of August

Who else is surprised? *raises hand* I certainly am. Ni hindi ko nga namalayan halos na tapos na ang July, tapos ngayon, magse-September na. Why?! Why must the days go by so fast?! Before we know it, September 17 na. At 25 years old na’ko. Kadiri!

Sa mga hindi ko pa nasabihan, 25 ang pinaka-ayaw kong age. Kasi naman, once you hit 25, late 20s ka na. So officially, matanda ka na. Late 20s is like 30s and 30s is old old old. Yuck talaga!

Ok, I hope no one misunderstands me. I don’t dislike growing old because I’m going to get uglier or whatever. I dislike growing old because… Well, because I’m not really very mature. And try as I might, I just can’t get myself to like mature stuff like reading the news, or caring about taxes, or getting insurance, or investing in an income generating whatever (see I don’t even know what you call it). I know it’s strange, but I still genuinely enjoy watching Disney Channel shows and reading teeny bopper books like Gossip Girl. Hehe.

My Probinsya

So maybe a lot of people will find it odd, but when people ask me, “Saan ang probinsya n’yo?” I’m one of those who would stare at them blankly and say, “Um… Makati?”

I’m not kidding. My mom was born in Makati, and although my dad’s originally from Bicol, he’s lived in Manila for most of his life (since graduating college), so my siblings and I never really experienced the whole “probinsya” thing. You know, having another dialect to speak, or a place to go to during holy week, or living on a street where all our neighbors have the same last name as we do. When I was a kid, I really kind of felt left out because whenever it would be sembreak, all the other kids would go on a trip to their respective provinces, and come back with stories and native snacks. And I would have nothing to share except the same old snacks I usually bring, and absolutely no stories to tell. And I totally envied my friends who could speak another dialect with their relatives.

Although now that I think about it, it does have some advantages.

First, I think my parents remedied this by traveling. Having no one “hometown” to go to during vacations, they broguht me  and my siblings to different provinces during summer. As a result, by the time I was 16, I’d already been to Cagayan De Oro, Davao, Baguio, Bicol, Cebu, Bohol, Pampanga, Batangas, Bataan, Ilocos Sur, Ilocos Norte and Boracay. And I haven’t even mentioned the frequent trips to Laguna, Cavite and Tagaytay (which are so very near our home).

Second, I’ve discovered that since I’ve no province where I’m from, in nationwide contests, I can root for anyone without feeling guilty of betraying my fellow, er, townspeople? What’s the term to use? For example, if a person is from Batangas then you call him Batangeño. Right. So I guess I should be rooting for fellow Metro Manileñans (haha! this sounds more like a term for fans of Manilyn Reynes :P), but since most of the people in the metro are from provinces anyway, they don’t root for the people here, and identify much more with the people who are from their own provinces.

Third, and somehow in relation to the second, I can choose my “favorite probinsya of the moment”. Since I’m not obligated by birth (or by geography) to be loyal to any certain place (although of course, the South of Manila (i.e. Muntiparlas) will always have a special place in my heart), I can say that I like a certain province more than I like the others, and just change my mind again the next day.

Which brings me to my actual point (and announcement), that as of this moment, my current favorite province is, Laguna.

There are reasons, which I’d like to discuss at length, but I don’t have that much time right now, so I’ll save that for the next blog entry.

Sometime Around Last Week

Also, sometime around last week, I heard this song on the radio, and loved it so much that I looked for it, and now I play it over and over and over. It’s my current favorite song of the moment. 🙂

It’s exactly the kind of song that I like– it has a long instrumental at the end, with violins and those special effects that make you feel like it’s the best song ever. (Haha! I suck at describing music.) And the lyrics are the best part, in my opinion, because I can actually understand them. For a poetry idiot like me, I really prefer lyrics that don’t try to sound too profound and use too many metaphors. With this one, it’s like it’s just telling a story, and it tells it so clearly that you feel all the emotions involved and even picture the scenes in your head.

Sometime Around Midnight – The Airborne Toxic Event

And it starts sometime around midnight
Or at least that’s when you lose yourself for a minute or two

As you stand under the barlights
And the band plays some song about forgetting yourself for a while
And the piano’s this melancholy soundcheck to her smile
And that white dress she’s wearing, you haven’t seen her for a while

But you know that she’s watching
She’s laughing, she’s turning, she’s holding her tonic like a cross
The room suddenly spinning
She walks up and asks how you are
So you can smell her perfume
You can see her lying naked in your arms

And so there’s a change in your emotions
And all of these memories come rushing
Like feral waves to your mind
Of the curl of your bodies
Like two perfect circles entwined
And you feel hopeless, and homeless
And lost in the haze
Of the wine

And she leaves…
With someone you don’t know
But she makes sure you saw her
She looks right at you and bolts
As she walks out the door
Your blood boiling
Your stomach in ropes
And when your friends say what is it
You look like you’ve seen a ghost

And you walk under the streetlights
And you’re too drunk to notice that everyone is staring at you
And you so care what you look like
The world is falling
Around you

You just have to see her
You just have to see her
You just have to see her
You just have to see her

And you know that she’ll break you in two

So, it’s from a guy’s perspective and you may be wondering why I like it so much. So here’s another thing about me: No matter whose perspective it’s from, if it’s about unrequited love, I always always relate to the one who got left behind.

Ha! And here I said at the beginning of this entry that I’d talk about happier stuff. Oh well, perhaps in the next entry. Have a great week everyone! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Last Week Already?

  1. naaliw ako sa post mo na eto Ida! 😀

    one, isusumbong kita kina Ana kasi sabi mo 30 is old 3x, eh pano na sila, mas madaming old yun 😀 joke!

    two, hindi ko rin namalayan na end of August na pala. pakshet! as in, ang bilis.

    three, i can so relate. wala rin kaming province na laging inuuwian, actually come to think of it, hindi ako close sa cousins ko kasi hindi ko kilala yung iba, hehehe.

    fourth and last, i like this song!!!! pahingi naman copy, hehehe.

    1. @mons: hehehe

      1 – ehh… sinama ko naman ‘yung sarili ko sa oldies so hindi na dapat nakaka-offend ‘yun. haha!

      3 – haha! pareho tayo! nagugulat na lang ako minsan sa mga wake, may mga pinsan pa pala ako na hindi ko kilala.

      4 – hmm… meron ako sa usb, pero takot ako mag-share na sa pc ‘eh. 😦

  2. Wala rin akong probinsya. Kaya nga nung tinanong nung manong sa PRC anong region ako nakatira, i didn’t understand he was talking about NCR. Hindi ko talaga naintindihan. Ibabalik daw niya ako sa grade-school. Weh.

    Quarter of a century old! 😀

Leave a Reply

