Books, Movies

More Cormac McLaggen, Please!

Right. I wouldn’t be a Harry Potter fan if I didn’t make a post about the movie, so…

I do hope that not everyone judges the books (or Harry Potter, “in general”) based on what they’ve seen in the movies. So, I’m not going to condemn the movies because that will make it sound like I’m one of those people who don’t know the difference between telling a story through a book and through a film, but I do want to say that there isΒ just SO MUCH MORE going on in the Harry Potter books, that if you base your opinion solely on the movies, I really think that you’re missing out.

So, I’m basing this opinion on the fact that after seeing the movie, my parents and my brother (the people whom I went to see the movie with) all kept asking me more details about the story– what was the relevance of the half-blood prince, how did Harry know how to save Ron, etc. etc. Based on that, I guess they really did leave out more than usual in this film. I mean, I’m usually with my family whenever I see the HP movies, but this is the first time that they’ve asked that many questions. Or it could be because it had a cliffhanger ending, I mean, more than the previous ones.

I’m suddenly remembering something said by my Lit professor in college– that Filipinos liked Harry Potter better than Lord of the Rings because Harry Potter had a clear resolution at the end, whereas LOTR ended with Frodo and Sam, finally reaching Mordor, and the credits rolling immediately after. Of course then, he had meant Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (and Fellowship of the Ring for LOTR), which did have a clear resolution at the end. And I guess it’s still that same reason why I think a lot of people (who didn’t read the books, and so don’t know what’s going to happen next) probably didn’t like this 6th movie. Because it didn’t have a clear resolution at the end. But, I don’t know. I guess I’m just too in love with the series already (I fell in love with it right around the 2nd book, when I read that Harry was a parseltongue), that I really don’t think that anything anyone says or does, will ruin it for me. Not even if Warner Bros. makes a bad movie.

Don’t get me wrong– I didn’t say this was a bad movie. I actually liked it very much. But maybe, I only do, because I already like the series so much. So I’m hoping that people who see it will still like it, even if it doesn’t meet their expectations or anything like that. It would just be awful to see fans’ interests waver because this wasn’t all it was hyped up to be. 😦

Anyway, another reason I’m posting is because I believe that Draco Malfoy deserves some L-O-V-E.

Sorry if he’s “the bad guy” or Anti-Harry or the Dark Side’s Chosen One, but I’ve always been a fan of Draco Malfoy. Is it because Tom Felton is cute and the BEST actor among the kids (because let’s face it — the real great actors in that movie are Maggie Smith, Michael Gambon, Alan Rickman, and the other older ones)? Maybe. But it’s also because I’ve really believed, from the beginning, that he’s just misunderstood. Nevermind that he’s a coward. He’s just been sheltered his whole life, so of course, he’s not used to dealing with difficult situations.

Seriously though, how great was Tom Felton’s acting, huh? I love how he had such a big part in this film (I think it was even more than what was shown in the book!). Oh, and Cormac McLaggen, too! πŸ˜‰

So Cormac McLaggen, in the book (for those of you who didn’t read it), was actually quite an obnoxious fellow, with ape-like features, no manners, and really all-around unlikeable. But in this movie, WOW. He was just… I mean, it’s almost really strange that Hermione prefers Ron over the hunks that come after her! And you know, with the disappearances of the previous good-looking characters (i.e. Oliver Wood and Cedric Diggory), well, having someone like Cormac around, was not a bad idea at all. πŸ™‚

I don’t think he’ll be back for the next 2 movies, though. I don’t think he was mentioned in the books either, so… I guess his few scenes in this one is all we’ll ever see him. Still, between him and Malfoy, (and, you know, Harry and Ron and the Weasley twins of course) the movie definitely does not disappoint fangirls.

—-

And now, a pic spam of the Harry Potter Hunks. πŸ˜€

Freddie Stroma/Cormac McLaggen as a Muggle
Freddie Stroma/Cormac McLaggen as a Muggle
Cormac McLaggen, Gryffindor Keeper (at least, when Ron's not around)
Cormac McLaggen, Gryffindor Keeper (at least, when Ron's not around)
Draco Malfoy - The Dark Side's Chosen One
Draco Malfoy - The Dark Side's Chosen One (Don't you just love the contrast of his white-blond hair and black clothes?)
Coolest Promotional Poster Ever (In my opinion, at least.)
Coolest Promotional Poster Ever (In my opinion, at least.)

… but now that that’s done, I’m going to have to wait another year for the next movie! Ugh. Why is life so difficult? πŸ˜›

P.S. Did anyone else think that the “16-year-old” Tom Riddle looked too young and too… un-creepy for the part? In the books, Tom Riddle is always described as very handsome, but also a bit scary-looking.Β But the one in the movie looked, er, a bit like someone James Potter would have bullied. Or is it just me who thinks so?

3 thoughts on “More Cormac McLaggen, Please!”

  1. hey, i haven’t seen that poster before! that’s really cooL! πŸ˜€

    i was surprised when they made cormac really hot. well, i’m not really complaining. πŸ˜›

    1. i LOVE tom riddle in the chamber of secrets πŸ˜‰ the posters awesome πŸ™‚ yeah in the sixth film riddle looked a bit.. well creepy, but he wasnt very dark and scary looking. cormac may be a jerk but all we have to do is look at him, soo πŸ˜‰

      1. Tom Riddle in the Chamber of Secrets was the best in my opinion! πŸ˜‰
        The only thing the one in the 6th had going for him was the charm. He looked like he was planning a practical joke or where to go find the girl he’s stalking :/

Leave a Reply

