Life

Half-Happy Half-Sad Weekend

It was half-sad because my friends who were supposed to go to my house for the weekend all suddenly couldn’t make it, so although I prepared food (and lots of other stuff) for 9 people, only 4 people (including myself) were the ones to benefit. The result was lots and lots of preparation wasted. Lesson learned: Never ever be prepared for friends coming over. If they want food, they can go and buy it themselves. I ain’t wasting another penny for people who don’t care enough to let you know a few days in advance that your trip to the supermarket will be useless.

Actually, I really should’ve learned this lesson long ago since it isn’t the first time it’s happened. On my birthday last year, I gave in to my friends pestering that I should feed them (because it was my birthday), and brought lots and lots of food, only to be told that they were too busy to eat, and I ended up bringing half of all the food I brought back home.

Moving on and away from the bitterness of reality, I still had fun. Because, luckily, Star Trek TOTALLY ROCKED!!! 😀 I’m happy to say that I was not disappointed and that the film even exceeded my expecations. 😀 And I don’t care if other people will say otherwise, for me, it was a great movie. 😀

Chris Pine is now just one step away from being equal to Johnny Depp and Christian Bale (who are on equal ground) in my heart. 🙂 Although the only other movies of his I’ve seen are Just My Luck and Princess Diaries 2, now that he’s done Star Trek (and as Captain Kirk, no less!), I’m hoping his next movies will just get better and better. 🙂 Not that I didn’t like the romantic comedies, but I don’t want him to get typecasted as a romantic comedy leading man (you know, like Luke Wilson and Matthew McConaughey).

I’m really happy that Star Trek was good. It brought me back to a good mood. 🙂 I actually want to watch it again, so I could understand it better. 🙂 I haven’t been watching any sci-fi shows for a long time so the technobabble parts of the dialogue was lost in me. Not that I would understand all that, I’m no science genius, but I’m sure you know, that if you watch a show often enough, you’ll get used to the way they speak and sometimes, without even realizing it, you’re speaking that way, too. You’ll even be able to play a game of Klingon Boggle! 😉 Hehehe!

Speaking of Klingon Boggle, who else is excited for the season finale of The Big Bang Theory? I’m glad my friends (the ones who made it to my house — Thanks so much for a happy weekend L, C and K!) were up for a short TBBT marathon. 🙂 I’ve seen all the episodes about 10 times already, but a show always seems new when you’re watching it with people who are new to the show. I’m kind of sad that the season’s about to end though, so after the episode tomorrow there won’t be a new episode for a long time, but what the heck, I’m happy with watching it again and again anyway.

And speaking of endings, have y’all seen the Scrubs series ender? Waaah!! It brought me to tears!!! I’m kind of sad to see it go, it’s been one of my favorite shows for the past few years, but at the same time I’m happy because, well, it was kind of time for it to end. I think another season with the same characters would be an overkill. And the way they ended it was pretty good, albeit a bit forced. But that’s fine. The whole “What if” montage at the end was a really nice touch and something new, actually. I mean, we’ve all seen shows that end with a “5 Years Later” type of epilogue, that’s already boring. So what they did in this one was just brilliant. But you’ll have to watch it yourself to find out what it is. I’m not posting any spoilers here. 🙂

Next weekend– the plan is to see Ghosts of Girlfriends Past and eat at Max Brenner and go to a birthday party with my high school friends. It’s only Monday and I’m excited already. Seriously, why can’t weekends be longer than 2 days???

Leave a Reply

