Books

Nineteen Years Later…

So… I just finished reading the last Harry Potter book. I know, I know, I’m about 2 years late. But like I said, I never liked reading/watching anything while everyone’s still talking about it. Sometimes I really enjoy fangirling alone. 🙂 Hehe, besides, it was the last book of the series. So natrually, I wanted to delay reading it for as long as possible. I wasn’t even planning on finishing it so quickly (Note: I’m a slow reader so when I finish a book in just 2 days, that’s already fast. For me.), but it was just so action-packed that I literally, couldn’t put it down except to eat, go to the bathroom, and go to church (It was Sunday, after all). But other than that, I spent all of my weekend in my room, just reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

Now, I know a lot has already been said about the story, the conclusion to the wonderful epic, etc. etc. J.K. Rowling said in her website that it’s her favorite of the entire series, though I’m not entirely sure why, since to me, all the book did was to tie all the loose ends in the series. But then again, those mere answers to the many questions that the 6 previous books had given the readers, were enough to keep us fans satisfied. 🙂

So I guess yeah, I still liked it, even though I found it a tad predictable and even, (and I hope people don’t hate me for this) somewhat childish. Spoilers begin here so if you don’t like spoilers, er… Just go somewhere else for now.  For those who’ve already read the book, please highlight:

I said in my “review” of the 6th book that I didn’t want the 7th book to be like an anime where Harry would just be looking for Horcruxes in a “one down two to go!” manner. And I guess that’s not exactly what happened, so I’ve got to give J.K. Rowling credit for that. But even though there were people dying, and there was a lot of discussion about Dumbledore’s youth and how even he, who was supposedly infallible, made mistakes, and even though there were the complex themes of racism and poetic justice with how the House Elves eventually were the ones to bring bad luck to the masters who treated them badly and all that stuff, I just couldn’t help but think that the story was still basically about a kid, a seventeen-year-old at that, who went on an adventure to find a way to kill the ultimate evil, and in the end had a one-on-one battle with him. With an audience at that!

Is it just me, or is it just too… for lack of a better term, typical?! I mean, what I liked about the Harry Potter books was that it was unlike anything I’ve ever read before and that each book had something surprising every time: In the first book, well, it was of course the introduction of this alternate universe where a different kind of magic (as in, different from the Disney-type of magic where people used their powers just to change their clothes and whatever other petty reasons) existed. In Chamber of Secrets, it was the issue of racism in the wizarding world. In Prisoner of Azkaban, obviously, it was the friends betraying their friends thing. For Goblet of Fire, it was the mere fact that there was a fourth wizard included in a Triwizard Tournament! Even the 5th book, boring as it was (in the beginning) had something great like the formation of Dumbledore’s Army — that was teenage angst and rebellion at it’s finest. And for the 6th, it was just really fascinating to see how a little bit of power can corrupt an orphan boy and change him into the worst nightmare the world’s ever seen. But in this one, in this last book… I don’t know. I suppose the whole concept of the Deathly Hallows gave me quite a chill when I first read the chapter about it, but the concept of collecting some items so as to make yourself stronger is just… Well, there’s just so many stories like it! It’s hard to believe that this was the ending that J.K. Rowling had “planned all along” for  Harry, when Harry had come such a long way, with his extraordinary journeys and near-misses with death. But don’t get me wrong, I still liked the book. It was still written beautifully — witty, and gripping, and altogether magical, just like all the other Harry Potter books, but I guess I was just expecting something different.

For some reason, while I was reading it, I felt like I was reading a Harry Potter fanfic. A good one, definitely, but a fanfic nonetheless. I’m not saying fanfic writers aren’t good (because I’ve read so many that were so good they gave me goosebumps). But coming from the original author, yeah, I already said it, I guess I was just expecting more. Or is it because I was never really all that fond of Dumbledore anyway even though I did cry when he died in Book 6? Or because it was just all too obvious by the end of Book 6 that Snape was in love with Lily Potter and that was why he couldn’t possibly want Harry’s death? Anyway, maybe I’m discouraging some fans by saying these things, so I guess I’ll just say random stuff and hope that they turn out positive. 🙂

1. A lot of the “human relationships” I think, was sacrificed in this book since Book 6 was just so full of that. Book 6 felt like, 1/4 about war and 3/4 about everyone’s raging hormones during the time of war, that in this one, where I was really expecting some hot and heavy Ron and Hermione stuff, there turned out to be very little. But I guess they had all the 6 previous books to develop their feelings for each other, so I still liked their part, little as though it may be, better than the whole Harry/Ginny arc. I’m not saying I’m against Harry and Ginny getting together. I just wish they could’ve gotten together in a much more romantic way.

2. The Malfoys! Draco, despite being a coward, remained enigmatic still. Did everybody else notice how he wouldn’t confirm whether it was Harry, Hermione and Ron that the Snatchers brought back to their house? It’s hardly believable. I mean, if he could identify Hermione in darkness while chaos was around them (you know that scene in Goblet of Fire after the Quidditch Cup was attacked? You remember that Draco was actually the one who told Hermione to run away as far as she could because she was muggle-born, right?), surely he could identify her under the bright lights of his own house’s chandeliers? But anyway, I’m glad they lived and that they somewhat redeemed themselves in the end. I’ve never believed Narcissa to be a bad witch. Just, a submissive one, to a bad husband. But hopefully Lucius changed after his trip to Azkaban and the rest of the family as well. Well, Draco did eventually at least become civil to Harry’s party when he saw them 19 years after the war.

3. And speaking of that 19 Years Later thing… My friend told me that JKR probably wrote that to shush the people who kept pairing Harry with whoever girl they chose (even though it was obvious since the beginning that he would end up with Ginny), and the rest of the other ships. It totally felt like a fanfic, especially when the kids were mentioned and how Tonks’ son liked one of the Weasley cousins and all that. But I kind of liked that part, if only because it showed that despite all the twisted scary stuff in the books, somehow, for me, JKR showed a bit of her “mom” side in that scene. Plus, I guess it’s only right that the last scene would be at the train station, since that’s where it all formed in her head, wasn’t it? I’m just a little miffed that she didn’t specify who Draco ended up with, and I had to go into her website just to find out. Hehe. Well, at least he didn’t end up with Pansy Parkinson. Although I’m not too happy about his son’s name being Scorpius. But oh well, it’s actually kind of cute, you know, with the dragon and the scorpion and all that. 🙂

OK, I’m just rambling now, and that means it’s time for me to stop. Maybe I’ll write more about this later on, and hopefully that will make more sense. But for now, I’m still having mixed feelings about this book, though it really doesn’t make me less of a Harry Potter fan. And I am still way way excited about the coming movie. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Nineteen Years Later…”

  1. the upcoming movie seems to be more promising that the book itself. i didn’t like the last two books very much. although i am still a HP fan. I mean, it was ..okay… that’s about it.

    1. Me too! Actually, I didn’t like the last 3 books as much as I liked the first 4. 5 is really good, but it was just too long in my opinion. And as for 6 and 7, for me, they seemed to be written just for the purpose of answering all the questions that the first 4 books presented. But yes, despite that, I am still and will most probably forever be an HP fan. 🙂

Leave a Reply

