V-Day Weekend

So Valentine’s Day ended up being so busy I wasn’t able to write an entry on the day itself. Not even on the day before it, which was actually even busier. But it was so much fun, at the moment, I almost don’t even mind that life is unfair or anything. Hehehe. πŸ˜‰

Despedida/Anniversary Special

So one of my teammate’s at work L, who happens to have the exact same hiring date as mine, had her last day on our team last Friday. And coincidentally, it was also her first day in the office (well, it was ours). Wait, let me say that again as there seems to be too many things going on with that sentence. And let me say it this way: February 13 is…

… mine and L’s hiring date
… L’s last day in our team

Hence, we celebrated our 3rd year anniversary in the company, along with our farewell party for her. 😦 I’m really sad to see her go, even if she is still going to be in the same company, and just in another department. Our work stations also used to be next to each other so I’m going to miss her a lot. But we can still call and e-mail each other, and it was a good reason to splurge on barbecue, sisig and lots of cake at lunch time! πŸ˜€ So that was fun!

Good luck on your new job, L! πŸ˜€ I’ll miss you a lot!!

Un-Fair

So my officemates and I planned on going to the UP Fair Friday night. And we did actually go, just, not inside the fairgrounds itself. The lines outside (to the ticket booth and entrance) were just way too long, that when it was 10PM and we were still nowhere near getting a ticket, or inside the fairgrounds, we decided that it probably wasn’t worth it.

We were sitting on the pavement thinking of what we were going to do instead when wouldn’t you know it, some passerby approached us and said that he and his friends were leaving so if we wanted their tickets to the fair, we could have it, for a cheaper price. But by then we were already decided on leaving, that we didn’t take him up on his offer. Anyway, I didn’t really feel bad about it, especially after I heard that there was eventually a riot later that night (not that I wasn’t expecting one, considering how there are usually riots at these events). And because what we ended up doing, in my opinion, was just way better than having gone to the concert. πŸ™‚

We ended up having dinner at Mister Kabab in West Ave. (Look at me! Going gimik in the North!) And it was goood! Although my opinion may have something to do with the fact that I hadn’t eaten anything since our big lunch at 2PM that day, but my friends who did eat later than 2PM said that the food was good, too. πŸ™‚ And I loved the fact that it was open even though it was already 11PM. We were actually still there at midnight, which, when I realized the time I suddenly said very loudly, “It’s February 14! Happy Valentine’s Day!!” Although the place was crowded and pretty noisy already so it’s not like I disturbed anyone. I think. Hehe.

After dinner, we went to the Coffee Bean (I don’t remember which branch, I am a total lost girl in QC!) and shared all our secrets. Haha! Nah, that’s not true. But we did take turns in talking about each other’s love lives (or lack thereof! Hehehe!). I always love Girl’s Night Out for the long talks that make you think you’ve got everything figured out. Hehehe. No, seriously, I love talking with my friends about that kind of stuff. And I’m glad that my friends like talking about it too, because we stayed at the Coffee Bean until it closed at 4AM, and still didn’t feel like going home. When we left, we went into our friend K’s car in the parking lot, and just stayed there until the sun came up. πŸ™‚

We found out a lot about each other, including some gossip about other people in the office (Haha!), and even witnessed a big lover’s quarrel that involved partial nudity (Note to self: Never pick a fight when wearing a tube top.) and lots of screaming. Valentine’s Day is just so dramatic. (That’s why I love it. :D)

When it was finally 6AM and my friends and I realized that some of us (including myself) have been up for more than 24 hours and were bordering on the brink of insanity, we decided it was time to go home. But since I lived 40 long kilometers away from where we were, I went with my friend K to her house in Ortigas and slept on their couch for the next 4 hours. We woke up at lunch time, ate chocolate cake (Yay!) and I headed for home, to get some more sleep.

But V-day didn’t end there as I woke up some hours later, and met with my friend in ATC. She was all stressed out from work (because she had to work on Valentine’s Day! Boo!!) and felt bad not to have a date (or anything to do) that night so we went to dinner at Cibo (Penne al Telefono is so the best pasta ever!!!). It of course, involved more talking. And we ran into one of our high school friends and her boyfriend. She asked us who we went there with and we totally proudly answered that we didn’t have dates and were there with each other. Seriously, what’s wrong with spending Valentine’s Day with a friend, huh?! Hehe.

Okay, so I know that I sound bitter a lot of times, but the truth is, I’m loving how I didn’t have a date for Valentine’s Day and spent the day with friends instead. And we didn’t have to call it a “Single’s Night Out” or whatever because that’s just completely unnecessary. I mean sure, Valentine’s Day is supposed to be the “most romantic day of the year” (I just got that description from Ross of FRIENDS), but who says you can’t have the non-romantic kind of fun?

Happy Valentine’s Day to Everyone!!! πŸ˜€

3 thoughts on “V-Day Weekend

Leave a Reply

