Still New

Look at that. 3 weeks in, and new things are still happening.

It’s 6:06AM and I’m in the office. Hooray.

Just in case you didn’t get that, that’s sarcasm. I hate 6AM. Okay no, that’s not fair. 6AM is just as good as any other hour of the day, except that it’s the start of my new work schedule. Starting today, my shift has become 6AM until 2:30PM and surprise surprise, I’m not happy about it.

It’s not just me, though. Everyone else in my team isn’t happy about it. Mostly because we’ve been spoiled with the regular 9 to 6 schedule for way too long, when all the other teams in the department have had these 6 to 3 and 2 to 11 schedules eversince. So now, my teammates and I, are somewhat exaggerrating our plight, talking in loud fake voices to say “Good morning!” and forcing ourselves to smile and say things like, “It’s such a good day to be up this early!” Okay, that was just me, but mind you everyone laughed and I could tell that they shared the same sentiments.

Oh well, that’s just life, isn’t it? One minute you’re having fun, and the next, you’re waking up at 4 in the morning to endanger your life by taking the public transportation while it’s still dark outside.

Nah, it’s really not that bad. If I lived across the street from my office and didn’t have to take the scary buses (that are prone to racing with other buses in the wee hours of the morning, which causes a lot of accidents), or if I lived in a place safer than the Philippines (or at least safer than Metro Manila, although since I’ve never lived in a province, I can’t really say if it’s safer there. I’m just assuming it is since the towns are smaller and there are less people so statistically speaking, it’s probably safer), then there really wouldn’t be any problem with waking up early and going to work early.

*sigh*

Happy new year again everyone. And good morning.

2 thoughts on “Still New

  1. nalala ko tuloy highschool.. i have to wake up around 5am.. para habulin ang 6am bus.. waaah!! cause 1 hr ang byahe diba.. and class starts at 730am.. waaah!! i think i know the feeling.. well, safe kung safe samin noh.. (i think) but the the thing is wala naman transpo.. so there.. haha!!

Leave a Reply

