Random TV / Movie Stuff

Tinatamad akong magsulat ng proper reviews, so these are just random thoughts.

I watched several stuff over the last week and wala naman, gusto ko lang i-share what I think about them.

Dayo – My first movie for 2009! And I’m not really disappointed. I already conditioned myself to think that the story would be nothing special, and I was right. This movie probably had the most typical fantasy story ever — kid gets bullied in school, kid’s grandparents get kidnapped by engkantos, kid goes to fantasy land to rescue grandparents, makes new friends, picks up fighting skills along the way, and goes back to the real world with the knowledge to defend himself from bullies. Really. Any fantasy writer could’ve thought of that in his sleep. But I still loved the movie anyway because the script was clever (as in, funny) enough to make the movie interesting, despite the story. 🙂 I’m glad this was my first movie for 2009. 🙂

Iskul Bukol 20 Years After: Ungasis and Escaleras Adventure – Right. I wanted to watch another film fest movie and only this and Ang Tanging Ina N’yong Lahat were left in the theaters. So I opted for this one because I figured the other one would be easier to watch later on (as in, my aunt would probably buy a dvd of it or something). And ang weird. I already expected this to be bad, and watched it solely because I remember sort of enjoying the Tito-Vic-Joey shows when I was a kid. But this was really strange. I mean, the Iskul Bukol parts were completely unrelated to the story and parang nanonood ka ng dalawang magkaibang pelikula nang sabay. 😐 Ang labo talaga.

Tulad Ng Dati – Finally! I got to watch the Cinemalaya Best Film of 2006. But more than that, I was interested in this movie because it’s about my favorite OPM Band, which, contrary to popular belief is not Rivermaya nor Eraserheads (although I love both those bands as well), but The Dawn. 😀 I love them to bits. Even though I was only a toddler when they were really popular (1988). I actually only found out about them in 2001 when they launched a comeback album, The Prodigal Sun. (Because they broke up in 1995, which is the year that I began paying attention to the OPM scene. It’s a long story.)

Anyway, I bought the DVD of this movie from PowerBooks, and loved it so much. It’s one of the movies that involve amnesia, but they don’t do it in a cheesy way. And although I was never in a band, nor was I ever a famous celebrity, I could kind of relate to how Jett Pangan felt when his last memory was that he was a big star, and then he wakes up one day to find out that hardly anybody knows that their band exists. It’s just a matter of having your favorite things taken away, and well, we can all relate to that. Great concept, story and script. (Pare-pareho lang ba ‘yung tatlong ‘yun?) The only thing I didn’t like was Mylene Dizon. Um… I’m not too fond of her, and I thought she was too young for the role. But, it’s fine. She’s pretty, and she’s not really a bad actress. Oh, and yay! for all the songs they performed. I loved each and every one of them. 🙂

Camp Rock – Very rarely do I not enjoy Disney movies and regret buying them (kahit pa discounted), so this one is really very strange. I was expecting it to have the same magic as High School Musical or maski parang Hannah Montana episode, but unfortunately, mas-nabaduyan pa’ko sa kwento nito kaysa sa isang episode ng Wizards of Waverly Place. OK, maybe not. Maybe, magkasing-baduy lang sila. But seriously, I did not like this movie. I mean, the songs were great, I’ll give them that, but the rest of it was Disney trash. I thought the lead girl was going to be this likeable person, but she turned out to be a total fake. Mas-gusto ko pa ‘yung kontrabida girl kaysa sa kanya kasi mas-totoo siya. I mean, yeah she treated other people who weren’t rich like dirt but that’s only because she wasn’t raised properly because her mom the pop-star was too busy being a celebrity. Pero ‘yung lead girl, who’s supposed to be the good one, and had the nicest parents in the world, still treated the others like dirt, even if she was only lying about being rich. I mean, WTF?!? Tapos nagka-gusto sa kanya ‘yung guy just because she sings well?? She didn’t even apologize to everyone about her mistakes. Saka ang konti ng part ni Nick Jonas. Tsk tsk tsk…

The Big Bang Theory – I visited my friend Xee over the weekend and she introduced me to this sitcom. 🙂 Actually I already saw some advertisements for it on Jack TV but never bothered to watch it because I thought it was a lame show like Revenge of the Nerds or something. But it turned out to be pretty funny. 🙂 Of course, my siblings say otherwise — mababaw daw at super korny, but I think they’re just saying that because they’re real geeks. Hahaha. Kind of like, how real mathematicians don’t like Numb3rs because the way Charlie uses math is all wrong at pinipilit niyang i-relate ang numbers sa mga police cases kahit wala naman talagang koneksyon. Oh well, I’m not a super genius (I’m not even the regular average kind of genius.) so I found this one funny and Xee and I ended up marathoning it the whole time I was at her house. Mababaw lang ang kaligayahan namin ‘eh! As a result, hindi ko naramdaman ang weekend. Where oh where did it go? BTW, I also like this (I know, they’re about different topics) better than How I Met Your Mother. Hindi ko alam why so many of my friends seem to like that show. ‘Dun ako sobrang nakokornihan. Oh well, kanya-kanyang sense of humor lang.

The Other Boleyn Girl – I wanted to watch this in the movie house but decided not to because I don’t like Scarlett Johansson (with a passion!). But Xee insisted we watch it because it’s got an interesting story, and I’m a fan of Natalie Portman so I gave it a chance. It was an okay movie I guess, although I still don’t like Scarlett Johansson and her role was really annoying. I hate so much those “saintly” helpless characters. But the movie was interesting because it was the first time I got to see Natalie Portman as a semi-villain, and because Jim Sturgess is in it. Yey for him! 🙂

And… what else? Ewan. Wala na. Hindi ko nga naramdaman ang weekend, diba?

3 thoughts on “Random TV / Movie Stuff

Leave a Reply

