Life

2009 Begins Today!

You know how sometimes, things don’t seem to start unless something big changes? Well, today sort of feels like that.

My sister just left to go back to New Zealand. I know she’s been living there for the past 2 years, but it still feel strange whenever we bring her to the airport, knowing that we won’t see her again for at least another year. So we keep in touch through e-mail and all that, but it’s still not the same as actually having her around, making jokes, meeting with friends, watching movies (although we didn’t actually get to see movies this time), eating dinner at the same time, at the same table…

Anyway, because she was here for the past couple of weeks, I took some time off work so we could hang out. But now that she’s back in New Zealand, well, I’m back to work and the usual routine as well. So yesterday was the last day of my vacation, and today is the real first day of my 2009.

Happy New Year everyone.

Here’s the plan.

I’m not going to call these “resolutions” because that makes it sound so offical. Instead, I’m going to call them “plans” — with quotation marks, so it’s still very not definite. 🙂

  1. No more soft drinks. – Probably the worst thing about my 2008 (Yes I can be this vain) is the amount of weight I’ve gained. And believe me, that’s really bad, considering how there were so much bad stuff happening last year. Anyway, these soft drinks I think are the main reason why I blew up so I’m getting rid of them this year. One year without soft drinks. I know some people can live without ’em, but I’m not one of those people.
  2. Sleep on time. – According to my dad, this is the root of all my problems — headache? It’s because I didn’t sleep early. Fever? It’s because I didn’t sleep early. Fail a test? It’s because I didn’t sleep early. Sad? It’s because I didn’t sleep early. Well, I’m not sure how accurate his diagnosis is, but if I do eventually learn to sleep early and no longer get headaches, fevers, fail tests or get tired, then I will have proven him correct.
  3. Save money. – After I bought my computer, for some strange reason, the money in my bank account never exceeded more than Php10k at any given time. And that includes pay days. Hence, I’ll try to manage my funds better this year (so says the girl who just saw two movies and splurged on a pair of shoes just yesterday). No, seriously. I’ll try to save more money starting… NOW.
  4. Study Japanese at least 30 minutes a day.Seriously. I’m on the verge of going crazy over how I seem to be wasting my money taking these lessons when I hardly remember the things I learn because I keep putting off studying during the days that I don’t have my lessons, which is basically the entire week except for Saturday. 😐 I should really be more diligent about this.
  5. Read. – Specifically, read all the books (and comic books) that I have at home. I have so many books that have been functioning more as dust collectors rather than actual books. It’ll be nice to actually read them.
  6. Write. – Also specifically, write substantial stuff. I have so many blogs, but all with just random notes that don’t really mean anything. It’ll be good if I could produce things that people would actually be interested to read, or can learn something from. Even if they’re just blogs, they should still make sense.
  7. Listen to the radio. – These simple things, I take forgranted. I think for the entire 2008, I only listened to the radio 5 times. And that includes the times that I left it on while I was getting ready to go somewhere, so I wasn’t actually listening to it. The result is that the latest songs I know are from 2007, and when people talk about music, I get completely lost, which isn’t all that bad really. But I hate to think that I’m missing out on some of the few good things in life.
  8. Organize my room. – Not just clean, but organize. Now, before I hear all the “yeah right!” comments from your end, let me explain; I really need to fix my stuff, like, use the dust cover I bought for my computer last year but haven’t actually gotten around to taking out from the plastic that I bought it in. Actually, I should really start with that — taking out of the stuff I bought over the span of several months last year, that are still in the plastic bags that I bought them in. I should start putting them in their proper place, or give them away, or actually use them.

So there. That’s what I’ve got so far. I’m very doubtful that I’ll get to do all of it (especially the last one, because that’s been my new year’s resolution since, forever). But, you never know.

2 thoughts on “2009 Begins Today!”

Leave a Reply

