Disturbia

First, I have to tell you, that I love Shia Lebouf. As in I super duper love him. From the moment I saw him in Even Stevens, I knew he was going to go far. Though I’m not really all that happy that Spielberg loves him. I mean, okay I love Spielberg ’cause he’s a great director, we all know that, but… Well, I think he becomes too biased for actors that he loves, which I guess is fine, since the actors he loves are great, but… Okay, it mostly has to do with the rumor that he said that he won’t direct the Harry Potter movies because the producers wouldn’t allow Haley Joel Osment to play Harry. I mean, Haley Joel Osment is a great actor, but the role of Harry Potter, I just think it was good that they wanted a new face for it, and although I’m not too crazy about Daniel Radcliffe’s acting skills, I think he’s still a good choice because his face is just right, and he learned how to act after some time anyway.

Anyway, back to my love for Shia Lebouf, it was because of him that’s why yesterday I bought myself a DVD of his movie, Disturbia. I wanted to watch it in the theaters, but never found the time, and well, frankly I got a bit scared because I’m not too into suspense/thriller movies. But the DVD was suddenly on sale, and I’d just seen Shia’s life story in the Biography channel (this is a great channel, btw), and it said that Disturbia was the film that “unlocked” his previously untapped potential, or something big like that, so I bought it.

The movie was fine. For its kind, it was pretty flawless. By “kind”, I mean a low budget production with only a few characters and is about teenage angst/serial killer, sans the “scary movie” stereotypes (e.g. teenage girls getting backed into a corner and hacked away at with a chainsaw). I have nothing bad to say about it, and in fact liked it so much I’m writing a blog entry. I mean, it’s far from becoming my favorite movie, but it’s one of those that I don’t think I wasted my money on and wouldn’t mind seeing again.

The reason why I’m writing this blog entry though, is to plug its soundtrack. Because really, the soundtrack was just, absolutely great. I haven’t found the score yet (as in, the instrumental), but the songs that they used are really really good. And they way they were used in the movie was great as well. Here are my favorites:

disturbia

Always Love by Nada Surf (I first knew about this because of One Tree Hill, though) – It’s like the new ‘Til I Hear It From You by Gin Blossoms. At least it is for me. It’s one of those songs that I think everyone would like, and by everyone I mean people who don’t normally listen to alternative music.

One Man Wrecking Machine by Guster – I’ve always loved Guster, and am happy to find them in any soundtrack. 🙂

Whoa Now by Loque – One of the nicest “chill out” songs I’ve heard. I’m definitely putting this in my iPod. It’s one of those nice songs to listen to on long trips, or when you’re at the beach.

Lonely Day by System of a Down – Another band I really really love. I heard from the DVD commentary (Yes, I watch that, too) that this is the first System of a Down song that’s ever been in a movie. Apparently, the band doesn’t do soundtracks, but they made an exception for this one, which I’m thankful for, because it fit the scene perfectly, and it’s the reason I found out they had a song like this.

Taper Jean Girl by Kings of Leon – another good song, I think this was used for the ending credits. And the ending credits were actually enjoyable because of it. 🙂 This is also good for one of those long drives and stuff.

Don’t Make Me Wait by This World Fair – This great song is like the movie’s theme song, with clips of the movie inserted in its music video. It reminds me a bit of Playground Love by Air, used in The Virgin Suicides soundtrack. They kind of have the same feel to them, but this one’s a lot better. This one, I could listen to over and over for a long time.

So I was supposed to buy The Transformers too, but the store only had the VCD and it was way too expensive for my budget. I guess I’ll just wait for a sale on that one. In the meantime, I’ll listen to these songs, and dream of meeting Shia Lebouf. Hehe.


BTW, just wanted to tell everyone that this is my 100th post on this blog! Can ‘ya believe it? One hundred posts already! 😀 Hehehe.

2 thoughts on “Disturbia

Leave a Reply

