Life

Mirrors

No, this isn’t a review of the recent movie with Kiefer Sutherland in it. It’s actually a story about vanity.

Okay, so we all know that there exists such people who still think that just because they speak English, people will perceive them as smart, or rich, or whatever. I personally have nothing against not using our own language, obviously, since I write in English more than I write in Filipino (although I do feel a tad guilty about it sometimes). Still, what I’m trying to say is that I really don’t think that people who speak English are maarte or whatever. The way I see it, it doesn’t really matter what language you speak, as long as what you’re communicating is something nice, or useful, or at the very least, not irritating (as in, if you speak it properly and not with invented intonations!), like these girls.

See, our office building elevators are currently under maintenance. I’m not that good with descriptions, but this is what you need to know: it smells like paint, and you can see the frame on the walls so you’ll figure that they’ll probably put something over those walls. Anyhow, this morning as I got in, there were two girls who went in with me, and this is how their conversation went:

Girl1: Eeeeww!! What’s that smell?
Girl2: It’s the paint.
Girl1: Yuck. Ang baho!
Girl2: I know.
Girl1: I wonder what they’re going to do with these elevators?
Girl2 & Girl1 (together at the same time): I hope MIRRORS! *laughter*

😡 What ‘da!?! How vain can you get?! Okay, I know what you’re going to say, what do I care, right? Live and let live. But… I hate mirrors in elevators. They hurt my eyes when light shines on them, they make the already awkward elevator rides more awkward, and yeah, I hate it for the precise reason they probably want it — because it makes some girls treat the elevator like the washroom where they can comb their hair and such. Ugh! If you’re gonna be vain, can’t you at least leave your vanity rituals in your own house?

[edit: 15-Oct-2008] This just in: They did put mirrors in the darn elevators. 😐 That’s just great. 🙄

Leave a Reply

