That’s Weird

My mom just asked me to go into their room to watch Smallville with her. I have actually noticed that my mom’s religiously been watching Smallville, down to the reruns that Studio 23 plays whenever the season’s ended. And apparently today was the first episode of the new season, so she asked me to come and watch. What’s weird is that I never thought she’d actually like the show.

It’s partly due to my influence. I religiously watched the first two seasons of Smallville, too. And I guess she figured it was easier to watch the show too since it didn’t overlap with any other show that she watches. But after the first two seasons, I went to college and didn’t have too much time for TV. I had to pick just one show to watch, and I chose Buffy. I figured I could always borrow my friend’s Smallville DVDs (Remember those days when piracy wasn’t all that big?) so I stopped watching it.

I didn’t know my mom would keep on watching Smallville, even when she’s the only one in the house who still watches it. And now I’m amazed that she’s the one who told me about Lana Lang and Lex Luthor getting married and Chloe being Jimmy Olsen’s girlfriend.

Anyway, I just wanted to share that piece of information with you. I’m glad I don’t have the kind of mom who goes for them local telenovelas. I’m not saying that’s bad, I myself am a fan of Asian Dramas (as you probably have noticed, given the rabid fangirling for the cute Japanese boys), but unfortunately, the local dramas aren’t to my liking (I’m only talking about telenovelas, by the way. The local movies are fine with me. 🙂 ). They’re just too, er, repetitive. I still have yet to see a fresh idea in the telenovela scene in the Philippines. No offense to the writers. I know they’re probably very creative and are just compromising their art to cater to the audience. But I don’t want to get into that. That’s not a very happy topic.

The point being, I think I’m lucky I don’t normally fight with my parents on what to watch on TV. Other than the news, I pretty much like what they’re watching– CSI, Smallville, Mythbusters, and don’t even get me started on our whole Star Trek: Voyager phase. Long story short: We watched that series as a family. Pretty groovy, huh?

(And yes, I meant that last statement to be corny. You’ll probably get it better if you’re a Voyager fan. It was Tom Paris who said it one of the episodes. I think.)

Leave a Reply

