Movie Review: A Very Special Love

A Very Special Love ( 2008 )

Starring: John Lloyd Cruz and Sarah Geronimo
Directed by: Cathy Garcia-Molina
Nationality: Pilipinas!

So I just got back from watching this movie. I didn’t see any of its trailers/teasers nor read any of its synopses on the net. If the people in the office hadn’t been talking about it I probably wouldn’t have known about it at all. Oh no wait, I would’ve, because I was in Glorietta the day John Lloyd and Sarah were there for their mall tour! I got to see John Lloyd in person! Hehe! πŸ˜‰ He was a bit far from me though, but whatever. Anyway, the only thing I knew about this really, apart from the fact that John Lloyd finally has a new leading lady in a movie (Note: Before this, I haven’t seen him with anyone other than Bea Alonzo. Has he made any movies with other girls?), is that the director, Cathy Garcia-Molina, has so far directed all the nicest local romantic comedies I’ve seen so far. At the top of the list are her earlier works Got 2 Believe with Rico Yan and Claudine Baretto (although she was only the associate director for this), and Bcuz of U (2002). But trust me, the ones she directed after that were all great as well.

So yeah, in case it isn’t obvious yet, the point I’m getting at is that the direction for this movie was great. The timing of the lines and the jokes were perfect, and the expressions of the actors weren’t exaggerrated or anything, even during the heavy drama scenes.

The story was actually pretty simple, idealistic assistant girl falls for pig-headed boss guy. Very very formulaic of a romantic comedy. But there is something about it that made it very Filipino. It had a lot of “family issues”. And for once, the family issues were on the part of the guy, and not the girl. I think it makes for a very good change. πŸ™‚ So, this movie is nothing phenomenal, but it’s a good average run-of-the-mill romantic comedy that doesn’t completely waste your time. I like it tons better than When Love Begins and it doesn’t try so hard to incorporate the drama stuff in it, like You Are the One and a bunch of others.

Also, I didn’t like Sarah’s look very much. Although I think they intentionally made her look not very pretty because the point was that the cool handsome boss guy can fall for an “ordinary” girl, and I like the fact that there weren’t any scenes wherein she “changed” and suddenly became all sexy and poised and beautiful. So maybe that was a good call after all.

There is one thing I didn’t like though– the ending. Spoilers aside, I think it was just too long. There was too much dialog and personally, I think the girl asked too much from the guy. I think it got too long because they wanted John Lloyd to do more things, but it all seemed a bit rushed to me. I think it would’ve been better if they’d spread out throughout the movie the things he did in the ending. And I didn’t like the request Sarah’s character (her name’s Laida, by the way) made. I think it would’ve been better if she hadn’t said anything like it, or if she’d said only one sentence. It was just too long, like she was also making a speech when in fact, a speech from her, isn’t needed anymore since she’s already said her piece several scenes before then. Oh well. Maybe that’s just me, and I’m sure they just put in all those lines and other stuff for “fan service”.

7 thoughts on “Movie Review: A Very Special Love

  1. siyeeeeet di ko pa rin siya napapanood hehe. πŸ˜‰ pero kasi, kasi, si… sarah eh 😦

    sayang pala, di ko nakita si john lloyd sa glorietta. kung maaga lang ako sana haha πŸ™‚

  2. waaaah! pinanood ko toh! GRABE ANG GANDA! KAHIT TYPICAL OR COMMON UNG STORY NYA, MAGANDA SYA!

    ANG GWAPO NI JOHN LLOYD LALO NA PAG NAKASMILE! WAAH! KALAGLAG PANTY… TAMA NGA UNG SINABI NUNG NASA TAAS NA SULYAP PA LANG NYA MATUTUNAW KA NA! LOL! ANG GALING DIN NI SARAH!

    2ND WK KO TO PINANOOD AT HANGGANG NGAUN PUNO PA RIN ANG SINEHAN AS IN! SWEAR! BUTI NA LANG MAG-ISA AKO NANOOD AT MAY BAKANTE PA!

    WAAH! SUPER KILIG! TAPOS UNG MGA TAO MAYAT MAYA NA TUMAWA AT NAGTILIAN!

    ITO ANG ISANG PRUWEBA KUNG GAANO KAGULO ANG SINEHAN NG AVSL!

    ANG ISANG PRUWEBA KUNG GAANO KAGULO ANG SINEHAN AY: ITYPE NYO SA UTUBE ANG β€œa very special love john lloyd cruz”

  3. nakakainis naman, di ko pa napapanood ang movie nina ate sarah, idol na idol q pa naman c sarah geronimo, wala kcng cnehan d2 sa sorsogon eh. 100%sure po ako na napakaganda ng movie…concert ka naman po d2 ate sarah sa sorsogon…marami ka po d2ng fans sa bicol.

  4. “..ay!!!!..bagay tlaga ng dalawa…sana d lang yun ang maging movie nla..pareho clang “cute”…d lang aso ang cute no..accepted ito for humans..

Leave a Reply

