Weekend with Friends

*tired sigh*

This weekend was sooo tiring! But that’s kind of weird, considering I didn’t really do much except watch movies and meet up with friends for dinner. Anyway, I personally don’t think it’s all that interesting but since this is still a blog then I’m going to tell you about it.

Journey to the Center of the Earth

The choice was between this movie and Mamma Mia. And I chose this one over Mamma Mia because I’m thinking that I have more friends I can drag to Mamma Mia. I don’t think any of my friends are interested in seeing Journey to the Center of the Earth, despite Brendan Fraser’s presence. I think I’m one of the few remaining original fans of Brendan Fraser anyway. (And by “original”, I mean those people who liked him when he was still a teeny bopper cutie boy, like during Encino Man days. If you don’t know that movie, then you’re one of Brendan Fraser’s new fans.)

I’m not going to give it an official review because, well, there’s nothing to tell really. The story is pretty unremarkable– it’s just about this group of people (there’s only 3 of them) who go on a hiking trip and end up in the “center of the Earth” which, according to Jules Verne, happens to be an airpocket containing a combination of living things that have sprung up since the Earth’s creation– meaning, there are dinosaurs as well as ordinary plants, and other species that we no longer see/have never seen before like giant mushrooms (as in, they’re as big as houses) and luminous birds. It’s all very interesting and beautiful to look at. The graphics, special effects, soundtrack and cinematography are amazing, but the story is really really weak. And the dialogue is affected, because with such a simple story, you can’t really do much with the dialogue.

Anyway, I’m not really complaining. I think the story was made as simple as possible as a compromise, to be able to put more special effects into the thing.

Now, I don’t know if this is shown in the IMAX theaters, but it really looks like it was made for that. Or if not, it should really be. I think I would’ve enjoyed it more if I’d seen it 3D. Then again, I’ll enjoy anything that has Brendan Fraser in it, so this probably really isn’t a very fair review.

Linda Linda Linda

The other movie I saw this weekend (just a few hours ago) is one of the movies included in this year’s Eiga Sai. For those of you who don’t know, Eiga Sai is the Japanese film festival sponsored by The Japan Foundation. There’s one every year, and the admission is free. 🙂 And a lot of people go to it.

I’m actually a bit sad that there are a lot of people who go to the Eiga Sai now. Yeah, I’m selfish that way. I mean, I’ve nothing against supporting the film industries of all nations, but I don’t know. I don’t like too many people liking the things I like because that means longer lines in movie theaters, and more competition in buying merchandise in eBay. (I’ve never actually bought anything from eBay, but you get my point, right?)

Anyway, Linda Linda Linda is lots of fun. It’s very Japanese in the sense that there’s not too much dialog and there isn’t too much happening in the story. It’s another example of that “everyday drama” thing where you think nothing really happens, but when you really think about it, you’ll find some important life lessons being taught.

Plus, I totally love Matsuyama Kenichi. His part in this movie is so small, it’s almost unnoticeable. But it is significant enough that he had a bit more screen time during the ending. And he’s cute to boot. 🙂 This is the first I’ve seen him wherein he’s not in his L costume. I mean, apart from the interviews and press conferences. (I haven’t seen any of his dramas yet, sorry.)

Friends Friends

Well, I did say that this was about my weekend with friends, right? So last Saturday, I met up with two of my former co-teachers, and we all had a blast hanging out at Pancake House, talking about what’s going on in our lives and joking about highlighters. It was really lots of fun. I always enjoy the “mini reunions” with friends wherein you talk about what’s happening now with you and the others, and then you reminisce about the stuff you went through when you were all together. I wish I could have more days like that with my other friends whom I’ve lost contact with.

Actually, I ran into another friend that evening, someone whom I haven’t seen in a really long time (years, actually). But unfortunately, we only saw each other because we coincidentally rode the same jeepney. But because the ride from the mall to my house is short, we only got to talk for a few minutes (not more than 10). I did tell her though that my number hasn’t changed and she did text me later that night. Hopefully we don’t lose contact again. 🙂

And then today, I saw Linda Linda Linda with one of my friends from the office. I wanted to watch We Shall Overcome Someday as well, but we weren’t able to get tickets for it. 😦 So we just spent the free time to eat, eat, and eat. Oh, and shop. Again, I impulsively bought a dress (which doubles as a skirt, it’s really great). Waiting inside a mall is really bad for girls. I’m not saying all girls of course, but girls who have tendencies to be shopaholics, like me. You should never make us wait. We lose all our money. Seriously. But the dress is really really cute, and I got it on super sale. I say super because it’s something like 70% off. 😀 Yay!

We looked at Barbie dolls, too. To prevent myself from buying more stuff, I suggested we go to the toy store, because that’s a place where I can enjoy looking at stuff in, but would never really buy anything (because I’m not a kid anymore, and I have no space left in my room for toys). Anyway, we looked at Barbie dolls, and we both agreed that Ken looked a lot better in the 80’s. For some reason, the Ken dolls look like some weird surfer dude now, with the bleach blond hair and all. And no, we weren’t just looking at the “summer” Ken dolls.

I had a lot of fun talking about Barbie and looking at the new designs. Some of the styles are ridiculous, like the Mariposa Barbie, in which big (really big) butterfly wings are attached to Barbie’s back. But some of them are really cute, like the City Girl Barbie, whose clothes would work for real people who live in the city.

Anyway, that’s enough updates. I think I’m boring you anyway. Have a great week y’all! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Weekend with Friends

Leave a Reply

