I’m Tired… So Tired

It’s 1:47 AM where I’m at. I have been up since 6:30 AM yesterday. And I was out of the house for practically the entire day, learning Japanese, walking the streets of Makati, shopping and talking seemingly endlessly with my friend. I’m so tired right now, can hardly keep my eyes open, but I still can’t bring myself to shut down the computer and go to sleep.

I don’t know why it is really. Somehow I feel like I’m on the verge of writing something really good, but I’m too tired to think. Maybe I should be writing it down now, but I have no idea what it is yet. Does that ever happen to you?

I have so much to do. I haven’t even taken out of their plastic bags the things I bought in the mall earlier, nor covered in plastic my new book for Japanese class. I’ve done nothing since I got home except to change my clothes, brush my teeth, and manage to make both my parents mad by telling them that that 3-year-old Korean kid who won the Beatles fan award for singing Hey Jude in YouTube was nothing special. They made such a big fuss over how he was unique because he can sing Hey Jude even if he doesn’t speak a word of English. I merely pointed out that with songs, we all can sing in whatever language we want, and with kids especially, they just repeat what they hear anyway. I know I didn’t understand Somewhere Out There when I sang it at a Christmas party when I was 5 years old. I just repeated the sounds I heard from the radio.

After I told her what I did, my mom’s exact words were: “Ano bang problema mo sa mundo?” (What is your problem with the world?)

It’s just the over-sensationalizing of things, I guess. I’m going to agree that that kid was talented for being somewhat in tune and having the correct timing to a song, even though he’s only 3 years old, but I’m not going to give him credit for being able to sing something, not in his own language. Because that’s basically just repeating sounds incoherent to you, but don’t all kids do that anyway?

I don’t understand how they can be so enthralled with that kid singing a song by the Beatles, but don’t take it seriously when I tell them how Takeshi Yasutoko’s been competing on the X-Games competition before he was even 10 years old. Tell me, where’s the justice in that?

Leave a Reply

