The Teacher Who Saved My Life

Of course, it’s not as dramatic as how he saves the lives of the students in his story, but I think GTO (Great Teacher Onizuka) came to me at just the right time. 🙂

You may or may not have noticed it, but I’ve been feeling down the past couple of days (weeks, months, year…). But now, I’m feeling a lot happier, and it’s all because of Eikichi. Or, Onizuka-sensei, I should say. Not because he’s my sensei, but because I also learned some things from him. Is it weird to feel like just one of his students, despite my being no longer in high school, and not actually having the problems that his students have? Well, even if it is weird, I still feel happy about it now, that even if I just saw him on a TV show, even if he’s fictitious, he still had an impact on me. It’s not just real people who can influence you after all.

Sorimachi Takashi as Onizuka Eikichi is ❤ ❤ ❤ . I cannot say it enough. Maybe I’m giving the show too much credit and it’s childish to say I learned a lot from it, but I’m honestly grateful for this series, because although it’s nothing profound, it was able to help me cope up with things going on in my life, that I have very much difficulty dealing with. I’m not saying it solved all my problems, but you know what I mean, right? Surely there have been TV shows and movies and songs and other works of art that, although aren’t all that great, or deep, were able to speak to you still, and make you think, even make you act a certain way.

I’m glad I only saw this now, and not when it was at its peak (when it was shown in the late 90’s). I don’t think I would’ve appreciated it this much if I’d seen it then. Maybe it’s fate? Or maybe, for the first time, time is cooperating with me. Maybe fate enlisted its help. (Because I’m fate’s best friend. If you know me personally, you’ll understand this statement. If not, er, maybe you can just ask me next time because it’s too long a story to put here.)

Point being, I really just want to say

ARIGATOU GOZAIMASU ONIZUKA-SENSEI! 😀

One thought on “The Teacher Who Saved My Life

Leave a Reply

