Movie Review: Sex and the City

Sex and the City ( 2008 )

Starring: Sarah Jessica Parker, Kim Cattrall, Kristin Davis, Cynthia Nixon
Written and Directed by: Michael Patrick King
Nationality: U.S.A.

I just got back from seeing this with my friend. We totally loved it. πŸ™‚ Although I watched some episodes of the series, I can’t really call myself a big fan of this. I mean, I never really researched it or looked for it or anything. It’s just that during the time that the series was running, I had free time on its time slot, so I watched it. But I wouldn’t say that I’m not a fan of it either, because I did really like all the episodes that I’ve watched of it. And there was a part of me that felt real happy when at the end of the series, Carrie (Sarah Jessica Parker) ended up with Mr.Big (Chris Noth). Anyway, this movie is all about what happened after that.

The truth is, I really liked how the series ended. As in really really. Everyone was happy at the end of the series, because they’d all seemed to have found what they were looking for. So when I found out that a movie was going to get made, I actually got nervous, because I thought, that they couldn’t possibly trump the success of the series. And I was a little hesitant to watch this, because I also thought that like most sequels, this might end up ruining the ending of the first (like Meteor Garden, okay bad analogy. -_-). But I guess I watched it because (like most fans), I really did miss Carrie, Samantha, Miranda and Charlotte. And I was curious as to what happened after they all changed their lives drastically (from the “single” gals that they were at the start of the series, I mean).

I’m glad to say that this movie didn’t disappoint me at all. Despite its being 2 and 1/2 hours long, I wasn’t bored for a minute. Despite it having had obvious cuts, I didn’t really mind. I know that what they showed in HBO had cuts as well, so it was really just like another episode. And it’s a very good one, too. I mean, Carrie, finally getting married, to Mr. Big? Who wouldn’t be interested to find out what happens, right?

So, I don’t want to spoil anything in here. Even though it’s been playing in the cinemas for more than a week, a lot of people seems not to have watched it yet (the cinema was full when we got there. And it’s a weekday). Or maybe the die-hard fans just want to see it over and over, because the series was kind of like that. I think its strength lies in how it can get anybody to be able to relate to the characters. Even if they’re really larger than life, it’s still very realistic (except the clothes, but I’m not one to complain about that), so you can still learn real life lessons from it. The thought that this movie (and the series) is all about sex is wrong. I think this story is really about relationships, I mean, about love, and that’s why it’s able to reach, just about anyone who’s ever loved (which is to say, everyone). Another strength it has, is that it’s about friendship, too. That’s really the point of it, right? That no matter how screwed up your life gets, no matter how many bad break-ups you go through, as long as you’ve got your friends, you’ll still be good to go.

Anyway, I’m really happy that this wasn’t one of those bad sequels that ruin its predecessors. I just hope that despite its success, they wouldn’t make a sequel to this one, because I honestly don’t think that there’s a better way to end their story. (Tell me if I’m wrong: The bar they were in at the last scene of the movie, is the same bar they were at in the first episode of the series, right?)

Leave a Reply

