We Won! We Won! XD

Technically, it was just my teammate P who won, but since he’s representing our team, the win includes all of us! πŸ˜€

What am I talking about? The department I’m in in our office holds a department activity once a month. Sometimes it’s a film showing or a seminar, other times, it’s something else. This month, we had a Trivia Game Show! πŸ˜€ It’s just like any other trivia show I suppose; there are several contestants and they’re asked some questions about a certain category. The one who answers the most number of questions correctly wins. The categories were general information, mathematics, and the information about (and therefore unique to) our office.

I really really wanted us to win. Not just because it would be cool if we did, but because it would be really embarrassing if we didn’t. I’ll explain something so you’ll understand: For some unknown reason (at least, it’s unknown to me), there is some kind of a rift between our team and the rest of the teams in the department. I don’t know how it started, but it’s always been that way ever since I got this job. As I’m not very sociable, I’ve never really had a problem with it, but I do hear every now and then that people from the other teams feel uncomfortable around us, because we’re kind of snobbish.

Anyway, I don’t know exactly what their honest opinions of us are, but as for me, I’m already happy with how things are. I have fun with my teammates. We go out, eat lunch together, and make our own jokes. There’s no need for me to complain. πŸ™‚ But, back to the topic at hand, because we’re kind of separated from the rest of the department, during the final round of the contest and there were only 2 contestants left, and one was from our team, it did feel like it was anΒ Us VS Them thing. You can hear it from the cheers. There are only 10 people from our team (not including the contestant), and the rest of the department consists of around 70 people. Naturally, their cheers were louder than ours. But we won anyway. And when we won, it did feel like we were the only ones who were happy. Everyone else started to get busy with the food, while our team cheered on and took pictures and congratulated our contestant.

I guess we really have our own little world, because it felt like we were the only ones happy with the results. I’m still not sure if this is a good or a bad thing. I don’t mean offense to the other contestants of course, the other finalist in particular, was also really good. If I were to compete against him, I’m sure I’d have lost. Especially when it came to the math questions. Maybe we’re just lucky, because our contestant is sort of a trivia geek, and he’s pretty good at Math, too. πŸ™‚

Oh well, there’ll be other contests and I’m sure the rest of the people from the department will be winning those. Our contestant may be good at trivia games, but not all events will be about trivia games, right? It’s all just a matter of what activity a certain person is good at. In the meantime though, because my teammate is really good at trivia, and the activity happens to be about that, then we have the bragging rights (and a cash prize!) until next month, ’til the next activity comes ’round.

Congratulations to my teammate P, and to the rest of my team! πŸ˜€ (I’d mention names here, but I don’t know, somehow Google feels like a threat to me. Hehehe.) It was certainly one of my best days as a member of the team I’m in. I’m really happy that they’re the people I work with. (Okey okey sobrang senti na, tama na.)

Give namin all namin sa pag-cheer!
Giving It Our All. That’s us, screaming at the top of our lungs while waving around make-shift posters. Lettering done by me. Hehe.

2 thoughts on “We Won! We Won! XD

Leave a Reply

