Somewhat Strange Day

Here’s something different: It’s a Sunday, and I’m in the office.

I wasn’t required by anyone to come here. I just had some work I didn’t get to finish (because I’ve been so unproductive lately, don’t ask why), so I came here. Supposedly, it was okay, because I was going out of the house today anyway to meet my cousin for her birthday. But she sent me a message just this afternoon that she wouldn’t be able to make it. Normally, I would be upset about something like that happening (I’d bought and wrapped her gift already!), but I can’t say that I wasn’t expecting it. Some people are like that, right? And I happen to know that she’s one of the people like that. Besides, she just gave me more time to catch up on my work, which again, I’m supposed to be doing now, but am taking a break from.

What I can’t believe is how I’m alone in this entire floor of our building. Okay, no. I’m not alone. There’s a security guard here, but normally, other than him, there would be people from the other departments (or even the same department) who would be rendering overtime on a Sunday, too. Today, however, there isn’t. I’m alone.

Now, there are good things and bad things about being alone: One good thing, is that I can play music without needing to put on my earphones. No one else is here, ergo, no one will be bothered if I play music while I work. Another, is that I can slouch on my desk all I want, without having to wonder if the managers are mistaking me for sleeping in the office. But what I like the most, is actually the peace, of the office, which lets me concentrate on my work better (although I’m really not great at concentrating, hello, I’m blogging right now, aren’t I?). That, and the fact that I can open the covers to the window and see the view.

I’m on the 12th floor, and the view of The Fort Strip from my window is really nice. It was nicer when I was at the 14th floor of the previous building we were at– I could see the Makati skyline. But the view from here is good as well, and it’s not that bad to have a change in view from time to time, right?

This entry isn’t making a lot of sense, I know. It’s really just to get my mind off of the work I’m doing, because it gets boring after a few hours. Anyway, it’s 4:28PM in my timezone right now and I’m going to have to leave the office soon (before dark, so it’ll be easier for me to get home). I don’t think I can finish what I really wanted to do, despite my being here for nearly the entire day. I honestly think I’m slowly ruining my life. It starts with this seemingly uncontrollable unproductivity at work. Despite my having said so many times that I’ll definitely concentrate and work hard, when I get here, I fail. I fail to think about what I need to think about, and end up thinking about the things I don’t need to (or shouldn’t be) thinking about. Are you confused? That’s because this blog doesn’t contain too many things about my er, issues, on life. Hehe. I want to tell you about them (believe me, I do, because no one I know personally likes to listen to me these days), but I think the world will just think it’s petty (because it is). *sigh*

I shouldn’t be complaining. I’m the only one who can help myself at this point. I’m the only one who can make myself productive, and therefore not needing to go to the office on Sundays, but lately, emotions are getting the better of me, and my life slowly gets destroyed. I should think about other things like

Free Food from Chowking

I ate lunch at Chowking today, and was asked a couple of questions about their new product Sjora. It’s some kind of fruit juice with milk. Anyway, after the survey, they gave me a merienda set, for free. 🙂 I wonder if there’s a way to know the schedules of all these surveys so I can just go to fast food outlets and eat without having to spend anything. Hehe.

Leave a Reply

