The Summer Vacation to End All Summer Vacations… This Year.

Hey y’all! How’s everyone? It’s my first day back from my summer vacation to Cagayan De Oro with some of my friends in the office. 🙂 It’s my longest summer trip this year, and I had lots and lots (and lots and lots) of cake! Oh wait, I mean, I had lots and lots of fun. 😀 Hehehe. I’ll tell you more about the cake later. 😉 Anyway, I realized several things on this trip:

  1. Although my family isn’t from Cagayan De Oro, it’s actually my 3rd time to have gone there, which makes it the farthest province that I’ve gone to the most number of times (I’m not counting Batangas, Laguna, Bulacan, Pampanga and the other provinces that are really close to Metro Manila. Since they’re just half an hour or a few hours away, I’ve been there more times than I can count :P).
  2. It’s actually my first longer-than-overnight-out-of-town trip with a group of friends. All my trips before this one have been with my family (either my parents and siblings, or my siblings and cousins), and the trips I go to with my friends have all been for only 2 days and one night, and less than 4 hours by land, away from home. (Again, I’m not counting the times I went abroad (because those trips were for at least 4 days) with a friend because then, I was only with one friend.) I’ve never gone on a plane with friends before.
  3. I can actually do adventurous things without my siblings. Because I think I’ve only experienced the extreme stuff, i.e. skydiving, because my siblings like it and it just makes sense for me to go with them. But now, coming from a trip where we not only did the white water rafting, but rapelling by a waterfall, sliding on rocks and jumping from a cliff into a lake, I think I can say that I can do some things on my own now. 🙂
  4. Summer is not just about the beach! There’s plenty of places in the Philippines with other kinds of bodies of water that’s good to spend your summer in, too. Like waterfalls and rivers, which Cagayan De Oro has plenty of. Plus, the mountains are really cool (I mean literally cool), so even if you’re not swimming or surrounded by water, you can still enjoy just looking at the view from the top of a mountain in the summer time.
  5. PAL (Philippine Airlines) is still the best airline in the Philippines. Internationally, it’s not that great. But if you compare it to the other local airlines (e.g. Cebu Pacific, Seair, etc.) it’s still a lot lot better. Of course, their being in a newer terminal/airport helps. And of course the snacks. I swear, the people in charge should really do something about our domestic airport (the one you go to when your flight isn’t Philippine Airlines.

Well, that’s about it. I’ll just edit this entry later when I think of something else. And as for the other details of my trip, I’m planning on writing about it in my travel blog (Why yes, I have one of these, too). But I don’t have any more time right now (I’m really sleepy), so just wait for updates. In the mean time, I want to share one of our pictures taken on the trip:

(L-R) Will, me, Karen, Carleen, Monica and Brent at Mapawa Nature Park, Cagayan De Oro
(L-R): Will, me, Karen, Carleen, Monica and Brent at Mapawa Nature Park, Cagayan De Oro

Leave a Reply

