Because I’m Finally Going to the Beach!

Well, I actually won’t be going until this Saturday, but I’m already excited. So I’m writing this entry. 🙂 I’m unfortunate enough as to have this Saturday’s trip be my first summer trip of the year. And it’s a company outing, too. 😐 Hehe, no offense to my friends in the office–they’re a blast to hang out with, and I really enjoy spending time with them. I’m just not too crazy about the idea of going to the beach with 100+ other people (from the other departments) who I’m expected to socialize with, and I’m not too keen on the fact that we’d all have to follow the same activities, too (As in, we have to eat lunch whenever everyone’s eating lunch, and we have to stay within resort premises and all that stuff. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve no problem with following rules. I think rules are great. But I’d pick the laidback type of vacation where only a few people are going and you make your own schedule, and no one will force you to be friendly, any day. Hehe. 8-} ). That aside, I’m still quite excited, because I haven’t been to the beach we’re going to–La Luz Resort in Batangas. From what I heard from my other officemates who’d already gone (they just got back yesterday), and what I’ve seen of their pictures, it’s pretty promising. 🙂

Anyway, this entry is really a recommendation:

Summer Holiday (2000)

Starring:
Sammi Cheng & Richie Ren
Directed by: Jingle Ma Chor-Sing
Nationality (as in, where this movie is from): Hong Kong

I saw this a few years back (2005?) and it’s one of my favorite summer/romantic comedies ever! Okay, quick summary: Sammi Cheng plays a city girl named Summer, who loses her job, and so goes to the beach that she and her cousin owns, planning on selling it, so she’ll have some money whilst she’s looking for another job. But when she gets to the beach, she finds out that her cousin’s already sold his half to Momocha (played by Richie Ren), a beach bum who has no intentions of selling the beach, ever. So Summer tries to convince him otherwise, and of course the two of them eventually fall in love.

It’s really predictable, I know. But it’s just so cute, that I still like it, even if it’s got a typical story. 🙂 Plus, it’s meant to be a light comedy, that doesn’t require too much thinking. What I really like about it is that despite it being light and the events somewhat far-fetched (how much of a coincidence is it that the guy who owns half of the beach happens to be — oh no wait, I can’t tell you. That’ll spoil the ending 😉 ), it’s not at all stupid, or ridiculous (or, it’s a little ridiculous, but in a good comedic way). So I think it’s perfect the way it is. Besides, the scenery is just amazing.

The place they shot at was Laguna Redang Resort, Malaysia. Wah! I’ve only been to Kuala Lumpur (and for only 2 days 😦 ) so I didn’t know (until this movie) that Malaysia had such great beaches like these! Look!

Laguna Redang Resort
Lovely water color! (Haha, water color :P)

So, for anyone who’s looking to see a nice, fun, and cute movie this summer, this is highly recommended!

Although I’m not really sure where you can get a copy of this. Maybe it’s in YouTube, or it’s probably in those places where you usually find other Asian media stuff (i.e. movies, dramas, music, etc.) since both main actors are pretty famous in the Asian entertainment scene anyway. If I know you personally, I can lend you my copy if you want. 🙂

Happy Summer everyone! 😀

As for this, I just wanted to post it because their expressions are so cute! Hehehe.

Momocha (Richie Ren) and Summer (Sammi Cheng) in Summer Holiday
Momocha (Richie Ren) and Summer (Sammi Cheng) in Summer Holiday

4 thoughts on “Because I’m Finally Going to the Beach!

  1. malaysia is famous for the beaches and shopping! 🙂 hope you’d come back to visit malaysia again some day. langkawi is our most famous island but really, any island in malaysia would have beautiful beaches.

  2. @sulz: The shopping, I know about. (I bought a LOT of clothes when we went to KL). The beaches, well, I know about them now. 🙂 I really do want to visit Malaysia again because I feel that the time we spent there before wasn’t enough! Not even for shopping! 😛 Hehehe. When I save enough money, I’ll get around to it. 🙂

    Oh, and I’ll do some plugging of my own country as a response to your comment. Hehe. The Philippines is famous for beaches, too! It’ll be cool if you could visit one and then we can swap beach stories about each others’ country. Hehe.

Leave a Reply

