It’s Orange Range Again!

Fun! One of the reasons I don’t research too many JRock/JPop music on my own (aside from the fact that I’m too lazy to find really good sources for them), is because I really love how it feels when I stumble upon some great stuff accidentally.

Take Orange Range, for example. I first encountered this group (some years ago) as I was researching the HipHop (they’re hiphop, right?) group RIZE, because I heard that Takeshi Yasutoko liked them. Anyway, in the site where you can listen to RIZE songs, there were some Orange Range songs as well. So I listened to them, thought they were pretty good, but didn’t research any more on them, partly because I was preoccupied with RIZE, and also partly because I didn’t think I would find them in any other website.

So when my friend told me about this movie she saw which had “a really cool theme song”, I really wasn’t expecting anything other than the usual famous Japanese band (like L’Arc en Ciel). But then she said Orange Range, and my heart skipped a beat. “You mean, famous movies use their songs as their theme songs?” I’d asked. It was really great, having a friend telling me about a group I didn’t think I would hear (about) again.

At the time, the song was Hana, used as the ending theme of Ima, Ai Ni Yukimasu. I liked it a lot and even memorized it, despite not understanding the lyrics. I liked it so much even, that when I got the chance to go to a record store (HMV Singapore!) that I knew might be selling Japanese Artists CDs, I immediately looked for them. I nearly bought the album with Hana in it (MusiQ), but the saleslady working at the store convinced me to buy their then latest album, Natural. I hadn’t heard any songs from that album yet, but figured it was worth the risk since I haven’t been disappointed by any of the songs from them that I’ve heard so far.

As soon as I got home, I listened to it and immediately decided that the songs Asterisk and Natural Pop were my favorites. Again, I’d memorized their lyrics (without understanding them :P), so again, it was such a pleasant surprise when one day my brother brought home a DVD of the anime BLEACH and I recognized the opening theme. šŸ˜€ “They have songs that are soundtracks to anime, too?!?”

I was really happy because that meant the group was becoming more and more popular (and therefore more available). And I got even happier because I didn’t even have to look that hard for them, their songs eventually just fell into my lap. Just like now, a few weeks after I finished watching the J-Drama Hana Kimi, I found out that the opening theme to it is actually also an Orange Range song (Ikenai Taiyou!).

Now that I think about it, I guess I should’ve recognized their style since I’ve been listening to them for quite some time now, but I could also have just been preoccupied by looking at the cute boys in the series, and that’s why I didn’t get to pay too much attention to the music. Hehehe. Anyways, I’m just happy (I seem to be saying this every after paragraph! Hehe!) because now “They’re doing themes for J-Dramas, too!?”

Hooray for Orange Range!

****

Ikenai Taiyou
Orange Range
Hanazakari no Kimitachi e Opening Theme

Ikenai taiyou Na Na

Chotto de ii kara Misete kurenai ka
Omae no sekushii feromon de Ore Meromero

Ah furechaisou Demo Ikenai no!
Jojo ni takanaru kodou Tomerarenai wa

Kawasu kotoba no Kioku tooku Kuchimoto no ugoki ni yureugoku
Nureta kami wo nadeta Soshite Ah

ABC Tsuzukanai Sonnan ja Dame ja nai
Datte Kokoro no oku wa chigaun ja nai?
Ore no seishun Sonna mon ja nai Atsuku oku de hatetai yo
Kitto Kimi ja nakya Ya da yo Ore wa Ikenai taiyou Na Na

“Akai ito” nante esoragoto Demo shitagokoro de sae shinjitai no
Ore wa tadashii Kimi mo tadashii Tonikaku mou sayuu sarenai ze

Damashi damasare mune uzuku Heta na shibai ga Yori moriageru yoru
Iki ga mimi ni fureta futari Ah

ABC Tsuzukanai Sonnan ja Dame ja nai
Datte Kokoro no oku wa chigaun ja nai?
Atashi no seishun Sonna mon ja nai Atsuku oku de hatetai yo
Kitto Kimi ja nakya Ya da yo Atashi Ikenai taiyou

Kawasu kotoba no Kioku tooku Kuchimoto no ugoki ni yureugoku
Nureta kami wo nadeta Soshite Ah

ABC (ABC) Tsuzukanai Sonnan ja Dame ja nai
Datte Kokoro no oku wa chigaun ja nai?
Ore no seishun Sonna mon ja nai Atsuku oku de hatetai yo
Kitto Kimi ja nakya Ya da yo Ore wa Ikenai taiyou
Karamiau ito wa Kimi to ore wo musubu akai ito
Na Na

You can view the video* here: http://www.jpopasia.com/play/3567/orange-range/ikenai-taiyo.html

*I actually felt a bit nostalgic when I saw this video because it includes clips from their previous music videos. It reminds me that they’ve really come a long way (which means that I’ve been their fangirl for a long time, too. Hehe!).

5 thoughts on “It’s Orange Range Again!

  1. I LOVE orange range ā¤ they’ve been my fav. music band since 1 year & 8 months I think.. I’m not sure. I became their fan the same day which my mom pass driving exam. XD

    Anyways I think they have better singles & works than ikenai taiyou, listen for: kimi station, hana, kizuna, miracle, hysteric taxi, hello, un rock star or.. pff I can chose one! I like all their works!

    please I’m trying to do an online orange range fan club, if there’s someone interested in them add me on my msn adress!

    mitsuki-hokama_or@hotmail.com

    kisses!

Leave a Reply

