Sad Movies Always Make Me Cry

A really really good movie always leaves me feeling like this: I want to write something about it, but I’m so in awe, I can’t find the words.

I’m not going to lie. I probably already have developed a bias for anything Japanese — anime, dramas, movies, food, etc. And if someone tells me I’m not giving things made by other nationalities a fair chance, I’d probably agree. But I have thought of a hopefully believable defense against that:

Why do I fall in love with things Japanese? Because it’s just so hard not to. (Especially their films.)

I just finished watching Tada, Kimi o Aishiteru. And yes, I’ll admit, like most fangirls, I was only curious about this film because Tamaki Hiroshi was in it, but I don’t think it matters how you stumble upon things like these anyway. I think what I really like the most about fangirling is that after all the superficial fan-service-y downloads, once in a while, you’ll come across things like these, which not only gets you to fall in love again with the object of your affections, but gives you the feeling that you’re not just into some cute guy, and that there is some substance to your admiration.

Tada, Kimi o Aishiteru (Just, Loving You) is about a shy university student, Makoto (Tamaki Hiroshi) who makes friends with two very different kinds of girls: Shizuru (Miyazaki Aoi), who marches to the beat of her own drum (or is “more original than most people”), and Miyuki (Kuroki Meisa) who is your typical girl next door (she even dreams of “becoming a bride”, how’s that for typical? :P). At first, it’s just like any other love triangle story, but a kiss between Makoto and Shizuru changes all that. And things only get more intriguing, as right after said kiss, Shizuru inexplicably disappears.

Saying any more about the story would ruin the ending for anyone who hasn’t seen it yet. So let me instead just go to the part of this entry which I hate: having to put into actual words how I feel about it.

[This is me cheating.] I honestly can’t think of the words. No, it’s not the best movie I’ve ever seen. I loved it, but I wouldn’t go that far. But then again, with Japanese films, it’s really hard to determine which is the best. They’re all too different from each other, too original, too equally good, to be able to make a fair and accurate comparison. Eh, this is really hard. I’m going to cheat again by quoting a line from the movie:

“I want to be fooled by her lies…” Makoto said.

I don’t know about you, but for me, this is one of the most accurate descriptions of life (or love, because this is a love story). It’s one of those lines that make an entire movie come alive, and stick with you, or maybe randomly pop up at a particular time that you’re sad. Don’t we all sometimes want to believe in things that aren’t true, simply because we become happier that way?

Despite the seriousness of this film and the somewhat sad tone, I felt happy watching it. I think it’s because it was honest. You don’t get enough movies like that nowadays. And I guess, because this film is that, then it is one of the best movies I’ve seen.

Leave a Reply

