How I Spent My Summer Vacation / Friends are the Cooliest Creatures in the World

And so, holy week is completely over and its aftermaths, and I think I accomplished quite a number of things; first and foremost having cleaned my room (Okay, so it’s not that clean still, but it’s an improvement from its previous state, trust me), and second is having bought me my own computer! Yehey! And I used my own money for it (well, it was mostly mine, haha we’ll get to that later), although I realized now that the road to owning new and somewhat expensive stuff is a long and hard one. For one thing, although I bought it for myself, and I was the only one who saved up for it, several people were actually involved (my brother, who enumerated the specs, my friends who went with me to the mall to get it and helped me carry it home, and my friend who set-up the OS and other programs). Blame it on my being the youngest child and having been used to everyone else in the family involving themselves in the decisions I make. Hahaha, or because on my own I’m really very indecisive and therefore cannot be trusted to make good decisions. 😛

Anyway, what I really wanted to write about was how I spent my summer vacation. Huh?!!? What vacation?!?

Okay, for those of you whom I haven’t told the story to yet (meron pa ba? :P), I actually filed a leave for last Monday and Tuesday (yes, this is a late post. It took longer than I expected for the computer to be set-up, and have it connected to the internet), so I could (you guessed it!) clean my room and buy a computer (!). I eventually was only able to make the time to go to the mall on Tuesday, and because I didn’t want to go alone (because I don’t know the first thing about buying computers), I asked my friend J1 to go with me. And just because I needed more people to help us carry the computer back home, I asked my other friends J2 and J3 to come with us (Don’t blame me for their names, they all really start with the Letter J).

So here’s what’s so cool about it: J1,2 and 3 are my friends from high school. And for the last year, we’ve all pretty much done the whole college thing and have had boring desk jobs for a year or so. Magically, these past few months, all of them have resigned from their jobs. J1 to finish school, J2 to go back to school and review for the board exam, and J3 to find another job she really really likes. Point being, last Tuesday, since I was on leave, all of us were free. 😀

We went to the mall! Hehehe, it was to buy a computer sure, but that wasn’t all we did. We ate pizza at Shakey’s, ice cream at Jollibee, bought flip-flops, looked at cellphones, and well you know, what do people do at malls anyway? It was very reminiscent of our high school days, when just after the quarter exams (which only required us to be in school ’til lunch time), we would go to the mall and do whatever. 😛 So my friend J3 said, “It’s our summer vacation!”

I completely agree. So okay, it’s one day out of 365, and hardly like a real summer vacation that has at least 2 months, and you get to go to the beach or bum around at home memorizing TV network schedules, because you’ve no homework or anything else to do, but lately, days like that, when all your closest friends are free and you can go to the mall and just hang out, have become quite rare. So I’m glad that I at least got one day like it. 🙂

And here is where I mention my thanks to J1, who helped me buy a computer, in more ways than one. Hahaha! So instead of writing this like a narrative, I think it’ll be more fun to tell you this way what happened:

[J1 was left at the counter of PC Express, waiting for me as I withdrew the money I needed to pay for the computer (Php35,100!) I was buying.]

Me: (bursts through the door of PC Express, and goes straight to where J1 is standing) Meron tayong problema.
J1: Ano?
Me: Well… Ngayon ko lang nalaman na may limit pala ang pag-withdraw daily, hanggang 20,000 lang. And, hindi naman ako maka-withdraw over the counter, kasi ‘dun ka lang pala sa branch kung saan registered ‘yung account mo pwede mag-withdraw over the counter.
J1: Ganun? So, paano?
Me: So… (looks hopeful) Meron kang 15,000?
J1: HA?!?!?!?!

But the real twist is this: Last Tuesday was J1’s birthday.

So haha, I’m so the bestest friend ever! Hehehehe. Mabuti na lang meron siyang Php15,000 and really, if it weren’t for the 20,000 rule banks had, I so wouldn’t have needed the favor! Hehehe. 😛

Thanks much to everyone who helped!! Mahal ko kayong lahat!! XD Oh, and belated happy birthday to J1! Isipin mo na lang na nilibre mo na’ko for your birthday… for the next 22 years! 😉

3 thoughts on “How I Spent My Summer Vacation / Friends are the Cooliest Creatures in the World

  1. hahaha isang taon mahigit din ako nag-ipon! 😛

    at hehe, hindi ako araw-araw nagbloblog. 😛 mas-madalas ka pa nga kesa sa’kin ‘eh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

