Life Updates (AKA Books and TV Shows Updates)

I have some kind of free time so I thought I’d write something here.

The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand is proving to be one of the most, if not the most difficult book I’ve ever read. I started reading it in February but have only read up to 68.2% of it. And here I thought I would be able to read 20 books this year. Pffft. Why am I such a slow reader? And I got copies of so many books I’ve always wanted to read, too.

For example, I got 2 books from Audible — World War Z and The Burglar Who Painted Like Mondrian. I’ve started listening to World War Z but I’m finding it harder and harder to understand. I think audio books don’t really work well for me. The problem is that audio books sound too much like background noise sometimes that I forget they’re not like songs on the radio that you can enjoy even if you’re just hearing them and not really listening.

I’m also trying to read the entire Harry Potter series again. I’m up to the 4th book now (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire) but I haven’t made it past the Quidditch World Cup part yet. I read it when I’m too tired to understand The Fountainhead so I’m not really making any progress.

I think it’s because I’ve gotten distracted, yet again, by TV.

Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. y’all! Have any of you seen it? I’ve seen all the episodes that are out so far and I’m so far liking it. I’ve been reading mixed reviews of it on the Internet though I guess everything has mixed reviews on the Internet. Though they mostly say the same thing: Coulson good, everything else bad. I think perhaps some people just have different expectations. The most baffling to me are the people who “hate” it because of the “cheesy dialogue”. Really? I don’t think it has cheesy dialogue at all. I mean, if you watched any of the Transformers movie, you’d know what cheesy dialogue is, and the dialogue in Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. is most definitely not that. I think maybe some people just don’t understand the humor and the language of Joss (or Jed Whedon and Maurissa Tancharoen in this case, though I think they took their cues from him). But I for one, am having a great time with this show. I don’t even mind that the characters are sort of generic. I think, like most of Joss’ shows, this series needs time to grow on you (if you’re not already a Whedon fan). I mean, I didn’t like Firefly the first time I watched it but the second time I watched each of the 14 episodes, I could think of nothing else but watching all of them again for a 3rd and 4th time. And I’ll admit that the 1st season of Buffy isn’t that great, but the 2nd to 5th seasons were nothing short of amazing (particularly the 4th). And the 6th and 7th seasons weren’t bad either.

Also, I’m kind of happy that the shows I’m watching now aren’t overlapping with each other (not really). So I can actually enjoy 1 season of 1 show at a time, i.e. When Season 3 of The Walking Dead finished, Season 3 of Game of Thrones started and when that wrapped up, Season 3 of Suits started. When Suits stopped for a mid-season break, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. premiered and on Sunday, The Walking Dead is starting its 4th season. Hopefully by the time it finishes, BBC’s Sherlock - Series 3 will be available. OK, so actually Downton Abbey’s started its new season, too, but its season 3 ender broke my heart :cry: so I don’t think I’m going back to that world again. I mean, I guess, Game of Thrones broke my heart, too, but at least in Game of Thrones there’s a war and you expect people to die in it. Downton Abbey was just… I don’t even want to talk about it.

Oh, and something else—because I’ve gotten tired of The Big Bang Theory (It’s just not what it used to be! Most people say this is a good thing, but I think otherwise), I looked for another sitcom I can enjoy and I totally didn’t expect it to be Hot in Cleveland. I’m not American and I was born in the 80’s so I don’t really know that much about the reason behind the hype of Betty White, but I have to admit that this show is really entertaining. It has also made me cry a couple of times. If you can believe that (But of course you can. I’ve always been a crybaby!).

Anyway, that’s what I’ve been doing these past few months, aside from talking with my friends and working (which involves more talking). I saw a few movies, too, but since I’m not awaiting any big movies at the moment, I decided not to talk about that yet. Perhaps in my next blog entry.

One thought on “Life Updates (AKA Books and TV Shows Updates)

Leave a Reply

